We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caneva

Caneva
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caneva
Ranked #327 of 386 Hotels in Venice
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was ideal for us. Very simple hotel...more like the feel of a hostel in it's simplicity. Breakfast was better than I thought. We had a great view if the canal from our room. I felt like i was stepping back in time with having a physical room key that you give to the front desk when you leave. GREAT VALUE all around!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank robin_kay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very centrally located (near the Rialto water bus stop). Paper-thin walls made us wake up tired each morning after a poor night's rest: even with earplugs the conversations outside our room were loud. Friendly service and reasonable breakfast.

Helpful?
3 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were touring Italy on a low budget and wanted to end our travels in Venice (not known to be cheap and cheerful).

We booked in at the Caneva and once we got off the waterboat at the Rialto it was only one minute walk away! Location was brilliant! A few minutes from the Rialto Bridge and a few more in the opposite direction to St Mark's square! Not only that, our window overlooked the canal and those cheeky chappies who rode gondolas blowing kisses in our direction whenever we peered out! What more could you ask for?

The hotel itself was basic (although saying that there was a red carpet and there was a chandelier...sort of!). We shared showers and toilet with others but it was never an issue! I think some rooms come with ensuite if that's not your thing.

Breakfast was varied and delicious and was a good start for our days out! Also not too far away is a cheap ice cream parlour where Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt went to with their children and for 1 euro 50 an ice cream cone, no one's complaining!

I enjoyed my stay and if you're looking for somewhere to crash and not expecting butler service then this is a great place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natamoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed at the Caneva, in Venice, for three nights in September 2011. It's fair to say I've never paid so much for so little: the bathroom was streaked with rust and various other stains, the wardrobe had literally collapsed on to its side and the doors had fallen off, and the air conditioning broke down for two days.

The bed would have been ready for scrap back in 1960, and was so saggy that my partner had to ask reception for blankets to stack under it to allay her the back pain it caused.

The manager's attitude was off-hand to say the least: when my partner drew his attention to the bed, his best response was to state that no-one else had ever complained.

Enough said: stay well clear of the Caneva, is my advice.

Dave Hansford, New Zealand

Room Tip: Rooms to the west back onto one of the minor canals, which is great, but we had a room next to a bli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Bartolomeo
Hotel Bartolomeo
#157 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Locanda Leon Bianco
#206 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#125 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Caneva
Hotel Caneva
#332 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Rivo Alto
Residenza Rivo Alto
#142 of 216 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Cannaregio
Guest House Al Milion
Guest House Al Milion
#302 of 468 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneva

Property: Caneva
Address: San Marco, 5515, 30122, Venice Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Number of rooms: 227

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing