We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last meal in Venice - superb”

Al Fontego dei Pescatori
Ranked #192 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Our last meal in Venice - superb”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our last dinner in Venice after spending 5 nights. This is located in the Cannaregio sestiere (district) and was a short walk from our hotel the Boscolo Autograph Collection.

We started off with the house white wine which was yummy and the appetizer of baby octopus. We followed by lobster & shrimp spaghetti and the mixed grill platter. All of the food was fresh and delicious. The service by the waiter and management was outstanding - unfortunately we didn't have room for dessert but enjoyed complimentary limoncello.

I would definitely recommend Al Fontego for dinner and suggest dinning Al Fresco on the delightful patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    186
    44
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A true gem. Great value for good quality food!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were on the tail end of our Italian holiday and Venice was our last stop. Having had our fair share of pastas, meats and pizzas (mind you, we tasted some of the best during our 2 weeks traipsing from Rome to Umbria), we were craving for some good old fashioned grilled seafood.
We visited Al Fontego twice - our first night's dinner consisted of squid ink pasta and grilled seafood platter. Both were very good. We love our pasta cooked al dente and the squid ink pasta was done perfectly. The squid was fresh n the taste of the dish was just right.
The grilled seafood platter was great as well - we had requested for no fish as we wanted more scampi and prawns. Although the size of the scampi and prawns were not as large as we expected, the taste more than made up for it. The grilled veg that came with it was good as well.
We went back there for our last day's lunch and this time we had both grilled lobster n scampi as our starter and the seafood risotto as our main. We were told that the lobster is freshly flown from Canada and still alive before being placed on the grill. The risotto was by far one of the best we have ever tasted! We could taste the seafood stock used in the dish plus there were lots of clams, mussels, prawns and squid as well. It was really worth the price.
Overall, we would recommend this place to anyone looking for good value seafood in Venice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sueballbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Off the Grid in Venice”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Venice is a city of art, architecture, hotels, and restaurants. There are the high-end restaurants that are barely affordable, and then those in the middle of the pack that vie for recognition. Al Fontego is one of those in the upper echelon of the pack. It is in the Cannaregio sestiere (district) of Venice off the Strada Nova. Outside seating on a small side street. The waiter was attentive, but when it came to ordering wine, the manager stepped in. I was interested in a white wine from Croatia - a malvasia, and he recommeded one not on the wine list that was less expensive, but was a wonderful accompaniament to our order - fresh sea bream baked in a mound of sea salt. With a fork and spoon, our waiter expertly cleaned and filleted the bream at our table.
Look for it. It will be one of those memorable meals that you will talk about years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank due-per-la-strada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, poor food”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately this was our worst meal in Italy. The tagliatelle were made with cold pre-cooked meat, and the non creamy risotto had 2 shrimps and 1 mussel in it...
Maybe the lunch chef is not the same, as i read many good reviews for dinner...

Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful food in a fabulous setting away from the tourists”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I shared a lovely meal at this restaurant on our first night in Venice. The seafood was fantastic and well priced. The service was great although we did find that because we were English speakers they tried to persuade us to have an expensive appetiser. Overall we had a great dinner here and after we paid our bill one of our waiters insisted we have a shot of limoncello, free of charge, which was a nice touch to the already great service. Worth going to

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldis1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fontego dei Pescatori also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Fontego dei Pescatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing