We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Pushy Service”

Al Fontego dei Pescatori
Ranked #201 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food, Pushy Service”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were a group of 7 (adults and teenagers) there by recommendation of our hotel concierge. It was just a 5 minute walk from our hotel and, seeing as it was snowing, a good local choice. The restaurant mostly empty presumably since it was late February post-Carnivale and the bad weather. The fod was very good and plentiful.. However, the service was kind of pushy. One appetizer included fresh buffalo mozzerella and tomatoes. We asked how big, since we were in a group and considered sharing some things. The waiter indicated it was not big but when it arrived, it was easily big enough for 2 people. We ended up with too many appetizers. Same pushiness on some of the orders, desserts, wine, etc. -- it was all good but a bit annoying. Anyway, the food was very good, we had a very nice time and the price perfectly acceptable (about 280 Euros for 7 people).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    182
    44
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality and great food!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We've recently returned from our first visit to Venice; on our final night we booked dinner at Al Fontego as we wanted something a bit special for our Step Mother's 50th birthday. We weren't disappointed - the staff were friendly and attentive, the fish that we had for our main course was delicious and at the end of the meal they brought out some biscuits and a candle for our step mother - which we hadn't even requested. We were also offered a free liquer at the end of the meal. I can't stop thinking about the Zucchini Parmagiana which I ate as a Starter - it was absolutely amazing and if anyone from the restaurant is reading this, please send me the recipe!

I would highly recommend this restaurant - especially if you've grown tired of the Pizza and Pasta and Rissotto.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
299 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great hospitality”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

At Al Fontego dei Pescatori I felt like I was dining with my family (only better). This is a fantastic restaurant that has only the freshest of food, especially seafood. I just happened upon it, as so often happens with great restaurants, so its at Calle Priuli o Calle de la Racheta in Cannaregio, not too far from Ca' d'Oro.

I was welcomed in with hot fresh bread and a glass of prosecco and then when the wonderful hostess realized I could speak some Italian, we started talking. I started with a platter of gamberini (shrimps) that was almost too beautiful to eat. This was accompanied by sides of cooked eggplant, peppers, zucchini and onions that were melt in your mouth good. But best of all was my main course, the grilled lobster (see photo).

You can tell cooking and greeting new people is a labor of love for these people (all of them featured in the photo) and I can't wait to go back on my next trip to Venice. One of the very best restaurants in the city!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We want back!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The restaurant was recommended to us by a receptionist at our hotel. It was very close to our hotel and we were very hungry, so we did not hesitate. It is a very Italian place, with white walls and table cloths. We were there in January, but we had a wonderful feeling of seating right on the warm Adriatic coast. The lady chef is originally from Naples (as she told us), and her cuisine is just amazing! The best quality of products, combined with the best Venetian recepies make an unforgettable impression. The Venetian classic of fried fresh sardines with marinated onion is marvelous. Try also seafood risotto or mixed fried seafood - unforgettable. We had just 2 days in Venice and went to this restaurant twice - you just want to come back again and again. Pricewise it is a real treasure - the bill will make you forget you are in one of the most expensive cities of the world. And the wine was really good too - try Lugana

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena-DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We found the restaurant in a Venice travel book but the address quoted was incorrect. However, the receptionist at the Ca Sagredo hotel where we were staying knew exactly where the restaurant was - just a little way up from the hotel alongside a canal. If you like fish, this is the place to go! It is a small restaurant with friendly, delightful staff. We loved it so much we visited in a second time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JP141109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fontego dei Pescatori also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Fontego dei Pescatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing