We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely situated in an area you might not otherwise get to”
Review of Algiubagio

Algiubagio
Reserve with
Algiubagio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 1,432 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“Nicely situated in an area you might not otherwise get to”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This isn’t in the nicest part of the city but looks out across the water to the cemetery, Murano and the mountains. Book early to get a table on the water’s edge. All the food was delicious, especially the fish. Do try the Risotto “Ga”, a lagoon speciality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    308
    98
    56
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance, food and staff”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Reacting graciously to my pigeon Italian, this restaurant was actually staffed by the best English speakers on our stay! Staff were friendly, and efficient.

Food was great, the highlight being a Tuna Tartare with Swordfish Carpaccio.

The view to Murano is great, and the impression I got was that the restaurant was less frequented by tourists than some of the more central restaurants.

We had lunch, our last meal in Venice. An expensive luxury, but if you're willing to push the boat out you shouldn't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank alistaircunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a bite to eat....”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for lunch, we felt a little under dressed in shorts and trainers, most people seemed very smart. Nevertheless we sat outside with views to the sea. We were going to Murano so just wanted a light lunch, they don't appear to have a lunch menu so we chose a spaghetti to share and 2 side-salads. It was very nice, enough for lunch. I nipped to the toilet and got to see the inside of the restaurant which did look lovely and I imagine is very nice in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went for my husband's 40th birthday and although the table had the best view, it was situated between 2 water bus stops which spoilt the ambience. The food was at best poor but the service good and the waiters had remembered it was my husband's birthday so the tiramisu had a candle and happy birthday on it. Not a great foodie experience in Venice

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Griffinb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The dinner we enjoyed here was very good. We tried menues 1 and 2 along with a bottle of the house wine (red). Everything was very tasty and nicely presented. The pauses between courses were not too short, so one did not have the feeling of being rushed. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. Altogether an enjoyable evening, though it was a shame the weather did not allow outdoor dining. Quite practical if your hotel is further away is the fact that the restaurant is close to a vaporetto stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with MyTable.com

Helpful?
2 Thank GeeDeeBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algiubagio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Algiubagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing