We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ambiance, food and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algiubagio

Algiubagio
Fundamente Nuove | Cannareggio 5039, 30125 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
+39 041 5236084
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Algiubagio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 1,315 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance, food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Reacting graciously to my pigeon Italian, this restaurant was actually staffed by the best English speakers on our stay! Staff were friendly, and efficient.

Food was great, the highlight being a Tuna Tartare with Swordfish Carpaccio.

The view to Murano is great, and the impression I got was that the restaurant was less frequented by tourists than some of the more central restaurants.

We had lunch, our last meal in Venice. An expensive luxury, but if you're willing to push the boat out you shouldn't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank alistaircunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cheshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a bite to eat....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for lunch, we felt a little under dressed in shorts and trainers, most people seemed very smart. Nevertheless we sat outside with views to the sea. We were going to Murano so just wanted a light lunch, they don't appear to have a lunch menu so we chose a spaghetti to share and 2 side-salads. It was very nice, enough for lunch. I nipped to the toilet and got to see the inside of the restaurant which did look lovely and I imagine is very nice in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went for my husband's 40th birthday and although the table had the best view, it was situated between 2 water bus stops which spoilt the ambience. The food was at best poor but the service good and the waiters had remembered it was my husband's birthday so the tiramisu had a candle and happy birthday on it. Not a great foodie experience in Venice

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Griffinb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The dinner we enjoyed here was very good. We tried menues 1 and 2 along with a bottle of the house wine (red). Everything was very tasty and nicely presented. The pauses between courses were not too short, so one did not have the feeling of being rushed. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. Altogether an enjoyable evening, though it was a shame the weather did not allow outdoor dining. Quite practical if your hotel is further away is the fact that the restaurant is close to a vaporetto stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with MyTable.com

Helpful?
2 Thank GeeDeeBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience for our last night in Venice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere and very convenient location for us to get back on the water taxi. The waiters spoke very good english and had a good sense of humour which added to the experience, the food was brilliantly presented and tasted delicious, the best food we had in Venice. Cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant. AND it was excellent value as well. Antipasto, first courses, second courses and dessert plus 2 delicious bottles of wine (one Amarone and one Cabernet), coffees and complimentary limoncello to finish off all for around £85 per person (€100).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedders901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algiubagio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Algiubagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing