We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Venice”
Review of Best Windows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Windows
Ranked #285 of 462 Venice B&B and Inns
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Venice”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

You can't ask for a better location and the small suites are classy and quite comfortable. The views are great and the place exudes charisma. We highly recommend it for a romantic getaway or just a sightseeing trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    21
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
66
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel. Most of the sights the guide books rave about can be seen from your window or are just short walk or boat ride away. Ideal if you are only staying in Venice for a short time. The ferry service (Vaporetto), gondolas and water taxis are all a short walk away.

Our room was on the third floor and there is no elevator. We were lucky that the assistance of the hotel porter was offered to us when we checked in and that he carried the heaviest of our suitcases up the stairs.

The room can be made up as double or twin beds and has complimentary internet access, tea and coffee facilities and a spa bath. There is also a sofa bed available.

The appearance of the room was spoiled by the installation of an ugly veneer room divider and there was no full length mirror.

The chiming of the bells in the square took a bit of getting used to, but did not disturb or sleep.

You will need to keep an eye on the tides as the square tends to flood and you may find yourself wading through ankle deep water to get to or from the door of the hotel to the raised platforms in the square that are used to get around at high tide.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra for the room with a view of San Marco Square, the room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at best windows mid-afternoon. Initially we couldn't get through on the phone ,to get the keys but eventually got through to the hotel that hold the keys. They where kind enough to bring them to us !
The apartment views are second to none and the apartment is very clean with tea and coffee making facilities and a small mini bar.
Not totally as palatial as I expected but good none the less.
Jacuzzi bath was a big disappointment as it only fitted 1 person and then you had to sit up as its far too short to lie in and relax( I'm only 5 ft 4 so I'm not tall) plenty of hot water at all times.
THE BELLS Ohhh god the bells !!! Drove us mad on our 2 nd night as the clock decided to take a mickey fit & kept going on & on for 5 mins at a time , then only to start again!! We both didn't get much sleep that night. Also the clock mechanism clunks every time it charms so that is also something to take into consideration if you value your sleep.
All in all the location is central with great views but we won't be back again as I feel it's expensive for what it is !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madtabby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnberry scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were the luckiest couple in Venice on 4th. & 5th. November. Best Windows is the only accommodation, in Venice, on St. Marks Square. We were on the 3 floor ( no lift, but a very willing Porter who can be reached by calling the phone number on the door) with a view of the Clock Tower, ask for a front facing room as you will then have a view over the square & Grand Canal.
The Suite has a lounge with T.V. a large bedroom & a beautiful marble bathroom with Jacuzzi Bath & shower.
We walked to all the sights from here & a big bonus is that it's a 5 min. walk to the Water Taxis/Buses. Lovely little Restaurants, round the corner, in abundance. Fabulous stay!

Room Tip: Book top floor as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icicle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

First of all of you are looking for a full service hotel this probably isn't for you. But if you can get by w out room service and morning coffee in a lobby you'll be a lot better off here. These are actually like little private residences right on San Marco square and I can not stress enough to pay a little more and get the 3rd floor view unit. You are basically king of the square and have an absolute amazing view of the square and channel (see my pics). The room is wonderfully decorated and furnished and I was informed the units on the top floor still have the original ceiling art that is over 500 years old! To be honest in a wonderful location like Venice I'm glad there were no spoon fed services since it had me exploring the city each day finding amazing cafes, shops and restaurants. Another thing that might bother some is being right in the square and high up you have the bell towers chiming on the hour but with the windows closed in the evening is was not an issue for me. Hands down the most amazing view I've ever had out of a hotel room and I've been in some great locations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, null, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I travel to Venice every six months for last 6 years. This is first time i tried Best W and we are in love. There is no other place we would rent in Venice, because there is no money that can buy feeling of awakening and heaving St Marcos church first thing to see, priceless. Thank you and see you in april 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Best Windows for two nights to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. The room and location was perfect. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, nice decoration in typical Venetian style, paintings, lighting and, oh yes the fantastic view.
The view is just superb, looking out onto Piazza San Marco, the Basilica, Palazzo Ducale, the lion of St Mark and out to San Giorgio Maggiore. So nice to see the piazza at different times of the day and night, oh yes and hear the clock ticking and the bells ringing every hour.
A wonder place to spend a special time.

Room Tip: Has to be a room looking out onto Piazza San Marco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gondolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#206 of 385 in Venice
1,047 reviews
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#207 of 385 in Venice
884 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#254 of 385 in Venice
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#68 of 385 in Venice
724 reviews
San Marco
Bellevue San Marco Luxury
Bellevue San Marco Luxury
#239 of 462 in Venice
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Windows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Windows

Property: Best Windows
Address: Sestiere San Marco 144, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Windows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Best Windows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Windows Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing