We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but...”
Review of Best Windows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Windows
Ranked #260 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The views and the location cannot be beat! We were on the third floor, facing St. Mark's Square, and it was wonderful to sit in our room with a glass of prosecco, looking out at the hustle and bustle. However, the windows on the third floor are fairly small, so we had to sit quite upright in our chairs to be able to see the crowds. The windows on the 1st floor appear bigger.
The room itself is done in the opulent Venetian style. I found the room to be dark, and not super comfortable. The bathroom is perfectly functional, if on the small side.
The weather was pleasant, but the air-con was cranked to the max. We tried to turn it down, but it seems that the a/c cannot be controlled from the room, even though there is a control box on the wall. We finally called reception and they are able to turn the a/c off remotely.
Room service did a good job every day.
It was no problem checking in at Panada, and they also kept our bags for us on the last day.
Now that we have enjoyed the view and the central location, we will probably not go back again. The room charges are high for what you get, and I wish the room had been brighter and with more natural light. As it is, it is a long, dark room, with two fairly small windows on one end.
However, for a first time visitor to Venice, the location is superb.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Everything from the view to the staff... I can not sing the praises of this place enough. The view of St. Mark's square is breathtaking and can certainly not be beat! My husband and I just got married in Florence and came here to Venice afterwards and I must say- I did just as great of a job picking this hotel as I did picking a husband :) I would fully recommend this place to anyone wishing to have a memorable stay in Venice and we will certainly be returning for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristaB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First the cons:
A clock tower view can mean the backside of a clock tower, so when reserving the room, make sure you are getting the San Marco square view if you are hoping to open you windows and see the activity in the square. And remember, this is not a hotel its more of an apartment, so don't expect WI-fi to work or breakfast in the morning, and three flights of stairs can be absolutely horrifying after a long day of touring. Also, the entrance door to the rooms is on the square so there is always someone leaning/resting against the door that leads to the apartments and you have to ask them to move to be able to unlock the door.
and now The Pros:
The rooms themselves are very nice, and kept very clean. They are decorated very "venetian", so if your looking for that romantic atmosphere you can't go wrong. As for sound, we never had any problem, with the shutters closed all outside noise is muffled and the tower bells were barely audible. Finally the best thing about Best Windows is- Location, location, location!, You just can't go wrong with being right on the square. No matter how lost you get in Venice, you always end up back at St. Marks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wow... What a way to start off our 15 day honeymoon! We arrived by private water taxi ( Amazing! ) which pulls you right into St. Marco so only a short 10 minute walk to the hotel panada to pick up the keys to our room. The reception, Alex was so friendly and helpful... A credit to this hotel. Thank you Alex! As we were early we left our bags in concierge and went exploring immediately! There was no rush to be back to collect our luggage, we were just old to take our time! When we finally returned....oh my, Venice is now my favourite city in the WORLD... we were personally shown back to our room in St. Marco Square. The entrance is just off the square next to the famous clock ( although please be advised this is not a room to stay if you struggle with stairs as I think there are 4 flights to get to the room ) once you reach the room, you know it's going to be good by the 5 gold stars on the floor tiles! Nice touch! The room is huge, and very beautiful. The bathroom is a good size and even had a juccuzi bath which was very much needed after a full day walking in Venice! The separate living room is good, with a tv ( although we never even turned it on, with a view like this we had no need! Wifi worked perfectly! ) The bed was very big and furniture vintage and heavy. An elegant touch. Also the rich curtains added a sumptuous feel to this beautiful room and blocked the light very well. And then the view.....
It doesn't look real! You feel like your in a painting.... It's absolutely staggering! The view is mesmerising! We took so many pictures and I'm sure we"ll be in a few to people's surprise when they upload and see us waving from a window next to the clock tower! Hehe!
Also we must commend Alex on his recommendation and getting us a table at THE most amazing restaurant in Venice! Ristorant Antico Pignolo.... What a gem! Its opposite the panada hotel. We were shown to our table through the restaurant to the outside courtyard which had tables dressed, waiters ready to serve and candels twinkling! It was a meal we will NEVER forget! The food was simply exquisite! The fish is to die for... and the whole meal was just a taste sensation! ( and we have eaten at a lot of top resturants! ) And if your a lover of wine, well this wine list will have your heart from the moment you open it! Anything and everything is in here... It was staggering! My husband was in his element! A good bottle ranges from £45 up to a insane £15,000 plus! You must eat here... Our whole experience cost just under £200 but believe me we would have paid more!
So returning to our beautiful room.... Book it, you have too! It really is the only place to stay in Venice... Oh the the windows are fantastic. You open them, noise, hustle and bustle. You close them, silence! So go for it, don't hesitate, book it, now!
Oh and a couple of things, call the hotel before you arrive in Venice for directions, it's a very busy place! And also pop over to St.Clemente palace from St. Marco on their private water boat. A beautiful place to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarahLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Best Windows hotel in Venice and it was an amazing experience. The location is literally on Piazza San Marco. The check in process is done through Hotel Panada which has extremely friendly and helpful staff. We were escorted to our room and to our surprise it was large with separate living area and bedroom. All the furnishings were amazing and the bathroom was modern with a shower and whirlpool tub!
We were on the clock tower side of the hotel so we did not have an immediate view of the square, but there are rooms that look directly out on the square.
For the price that we paid (advanced purchase directly through their website) the size and quality of the accommodations rivaled hotels that were easily twice the price.
Note that the front desk is at another hotel (hotel panada), but the room was cleaned daily (we were not expecting that). This hotel is for travelers who don't need a lot of assistance from hotel staff but are looking for a great clean room centrally located in Venice.
It should be mentioned that there are 3 floors to the hotel which are available only via stairs, but if you are visiting Venice then stairs come with the territory.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the clock tower do not face the square and are quieter. Higher floored rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gooch_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The room was amazing, just as we expected. Upon check in at the hotel Panada, we were greeted by Alex at the front desk who quickly escorted us to our room which was just a two minute walk away. While the room was fabulous, it was quite a walk up the stairs each time since we were on the 4th floor. Other than that, I can't imagine a more perfect setting to vacation in Venice. The hotel treated us like royalty since we were staying in their 'suites' and Alex helped us antime we needed anything. We had the same luck with the wireless Internet, but had no problem accessing it at the hotel Panada...and it was kind of nice to be unplugged anyway. All in all it was a GREAT stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The place and the location is perfect as other guests already mentioned, however don't count on the wireless network. I have been located in the last floor with a view to the clock tower and it was hardly possible to get a working wireless connection.
The mini fridge in my apartment was not cooling well and the beverages were rather warm than cold.
Otherwise I was happy with and satisfied with Best Windows.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#156 of 387 in Venice
2,194 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,215 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 387 in Venice
1,121 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,021 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Windows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Windows

Address: Sestiere San Marco 144, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $191 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Windows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Windows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Windows Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing