We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Charming House IQs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charming House IQs
Ranked #5 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Incredibly comfortable and convenient. Small but luxurious and tasteful, extremely kind staff. Very thoughtful. Felt like home, didn't want to leave. Well, not HOME-home because my home doesn't come with a basket of breakfast every morning (pastries, rolls, yogurt, jams, fruit -- oranges, kiwis, apples, bananas, strawberries, aieeee -- cheese, coffee, juice) or include an inner terrace with a fountain OR have a door onto a canal.

Would very happily return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    41
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
84
163
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We just returned from a two-week jaunt in Italy. I had booked IQs Charming House based on several reviews from tripadvisor and other resources and I must say that IQs Charming House was lovely and a true respite from the hustle and bustle of Venice. The modernly decorated room was very clean and had almost everything one would need. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, albeit tight, was extremely nice, clean and up-to-date.

And, the staff… what can I say? They were absolutely wonderful. We arrived much later than anticipated, but Anna waited for us. The water taxi couldn't deliver us to the hotel entrance due to high water, so Anna had him boat to another location where she met us and led us back to the hotel (while she hefted some of the luggage -- a real trooper, that girl!) Once in the hotel, Anna provided a map and talked us through everything we needed to know about how to get around Venice and, most importantly, how to get back to the hotel. Her restaurant suggestions were spot on and her activity insights perfectly matched what we wanted to do. Since we arrived so late, the restaurants were already closing, so we had no alternative than to fix a meal in the room however, all we had was pasta and there didn't appear to be a pot large enough to cook it. So, Anna went home and brought us a pot - WOW, that is customer service! This is not to leave out the other staff members who were all very delightful, efficient and helpful.

IQs Charming House is also in a great location, within 10 minutes walk to almost everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaylefromPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This really charming Charming House with only four rooms was a fantastic finding. Our room was very spacious, very well decorated and we fell at home. We really felt we were living in Venice. Breakfast in the room was a surprise to us. Anna and the team did everything they could to help us and their recommendations were all spot on. And location is really privileged. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A delightful place to stay... but I must make some constructive criticisms.

On the positive side, Anna and Catharina are outstanding in their helpfulness and knowledge of the locality. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are both charming and delightful girls.On several occasions they gave us a street by street guidance to our intended destination, without which we would still be wandering lost in the maze of tiny streets which is Venice!
Breakfast in the apartment is exceptionally pleasant and far preferable to the usual restaurant buffet service of most hotels.
The location is excellent being just a short walk from St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. Being situated on a canal one has the unique experience of looking out of one's window at the gondolas passing by!

On the negative side however is the darkness of apartment 2. The lack of any central lights makes for a very gloomy interior. The worst aspect of this is the bathroom where, in order to be able to see in the mirror, an angle poise lamp is plugged in by the washbasin; not the best idea from a health and safety perspective. Better illumination is essential.

In contrast apartment 3 is bright and airy and I would have given a higher rating if staying there.

Room Tip: Not room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bariom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

iQs Charming House is in a delightful location, the room was decorated in a nice contemporary style. Breakfast each day in the room was excellent, it included fresh fruit and Italian cheeses. Very helpful staff, a good local knowledge, nothing too much trouble. An extremely enjoyable few days.

Room Tip: The white room was light and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjb31uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We've just spent a magical week in Venice. We've been before, but the experience was never like this, thanks to Anna at Charming House. Perfect in every way. We would never look anywhere else to stay. Fantastic.

Mari VanTraa

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvt239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was knew when I booked their was no room service but I had expected, as suggested, their would be a kitchen. I can only assume it was in the adjoining room of this 2 room suite which I felt I was sharing as I heard every conversation and toilet break. The reception was manned only on my arrival and good luck getting any help. The bed and stool height (there were no chairs) was about 60cms and each morning someone arrived to serve me breakfast in my room which I ate on either of 2 stools.It wasn't comfortable. It is at best an expensive B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YipYoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 386 in Venice
768 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 386 in Venice
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming House IQs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming House IQs

Property: Charming House IQs
Address: Castello, 4425, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Family Hotel in Venice
#39 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming House IQs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qs are the latest addition to the Charming House family. It is a place where you will feel like at home, where you can offer yourself the luxury of unique suites, behind Piazza San Marco, with canal view on the famous Rio di Santa Maria Formosa, right where its waters take a turn before meeting the Gran Canal under the Bridge of Sighs. The interior is a Gothic courtyard with a well-curb. Contemporary design and art complete the wonderful location. Whether you are traveling for business or pure pleasure, the Charming House i Qs is the ideal place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Charming House IQs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iqs Charming House Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing