We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing concierge, and comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of IQs Charming House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
IQs Charming House
Ranked #30 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Amazing concierge, and comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

For us, the highlight of staying at the Charming House IQ was the concierge, Anna. Right when we walked in the door, she greeted us when genuine hospitality and helpfulness. She made herself available each morning to answer any questions that we might have had, providing information and guiding us in our plans to enjoy Venice. We are very thankful and appreciative of Anna's assistance during our time in Venice. It was as of this hotel came with it's own tour guide.

The hotel itself was just shy of one star in perfection. The location was ideal - far enough away from St. Mark's Square to avoid the crowds but an easy walk to most locations. Finding the hotel wan interesting adventure as we decided to take the public transportation boat from the airport to the closet stop to the hotel (rather than spending 130 EURO on a boat taxi). Walking through Venice for the first time, finding the hotel - was interesting but yet fun. One caveat is that the hotel does not have a sign ....... we were standing in front of it wondering where it was .... only later realizing that we were standing in front it. It does have it's own little private bridge (adorable - see picture) with an awesomely large wooden door.

I should add that if we decided to take a boat taxi, we would have taken it right into their lobby (check out picture).

Our room was one of the smaller ones ...... but it still seemed quite large to us, given that rooms in US cities (i.e. New York) are much smaller. The bed was gigantic ..... but the mattress was a bit too hard for us. I did wish the bed was more comfortable - but nevertheless we slept well having walked and doing too much each day in Venice.

The bathroom rocked - best shower ever! A two-person shower that felt like rain ..... I loved it!

The breakfast also rocked. Anna literally brought us breakfast to our room each day, that included a selection of cereal / granola, croissants, rolls, yogurt, juice, coffee / tea, etc. It was a great way to start each day. While dropping off the breakfast, Anna would check in with us to see if we needed any assistance for our plans for the day in touring Venice. Did I mention that Anna was awesome?

Would we stay there again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD724, Proprietario at IQs Charming House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Absolutely beautiful review and very helpful in my opinion. It is a pleasure and a joy to assist our guests during their stay, so as to make their stay with us truly memorable.
CB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
151
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wonderful, relaxing and beautiful experience from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble, Anna was charming and efficient, and breakfast was a wonder. Loved having the nespresso in the room. And the shower is fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMcCormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmingHouseiQs, Proprietario at IQs Charming House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
We could not expect to receive the most beautiful words that you have written for us. Thanks you from all the staff of Charming House iQs.
Warm regards,
Chiara Bocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Home away from Home! Truly an amazing experience. The service was first rate! Always with a smile :-) They were excellent guides on what we had to see and do in the city! Delicious recommendations for our meals. The location superb and the suite was perfect for our family! We will definitely go back to Charming House!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmingHouseiQs, Proprietario at IQs Charming House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Home away from home! This is exactly how we want our guests to feel, at their ease in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere, with friendly yet professional personnel.
Sincerily,
Chiara Bocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at the Charming House IQS in June 2012 and found the location, staff and amenities really good. The hotel only has 4 rooms but you get really good service from the staff and it is brilliantly located for lots of local attractions and is easy to navigate back to in the notoriously difficult streets of Venice. There is a canal right outside and a lovely square with bars just around the corner. There is a coop nearby to pick up items for snacks and picnics. There is also a bodega locally where you can buy bottles of wine and prosecco for around 3 euros a litre - a real bargain. There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance. The room was really good, sheets and towels were changed daily and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at IQs Charming House, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you. The denomination "hidden gem" is really special for our three Charming and exclusive Suites next to Piazza San Marco and located in a very convenient area.
We wait for you soon!
Chiara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night a real hidden treasure. We arrived and was greeted by Anna who is just the perfect host ... her knowledge of the area.. her manner...she just couldnt do enough to please. The room was huge and everything you would require in your room had been thought of. The breakfast was lovely delivered to your room at what time you request. This hotel is in the perfect location. If I was to give any advice on arrival at Venice airport get a private water taxi to the hotel it is expensive but worth every penny. This hotel is really funky and boutique I stayed here with my husband 10 year old little boy and mother in law we were upgraded to a suite free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rafi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at IQs Charming House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you, dear guest, Anna and I are very happy for the appreciative words.
We are happy you have appreciated the love with which we welcome our guests and the love we all have put into the realization of the Charming House iQs.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was our first visit to Venice and wanted to choose a hotel that helped create happy memories of our special break - IQs Charming House certainly did that. Anna met us on arrival and was the perfect host, providing us with very useful local information and restaurant suggestions, all with a big, welcoming smile!

The room was perfect, in a really convenient location with a spacious living area, ample-sized bedroom and a roomy bathroom with possibly the best shower in the world! We travelled with our 10 year old son, who was delighted with his king size sofa bed!!

We overlooked the canal and thoroughly enjoyed sitting with the windows open listening to the gondolas glide past, quite often with music or a singer. Just beautiful.

We were apprehensive about having breakfast prepared in our room, but we needn't have worried. Fresh bread and pastries, with cheeses, preserves, cereals and fresh fruit was ideal, delivered each morning by Anna. Also, not to mention the Nespresso coffee - we love our Nespresso machine at home so this just topped off the facilites for us.

We have already passed on details of this hotel to two friends and will continue to do so. We had a truly wonderful time in Venice, helped by our fabulous stay at IQs Charming House and we would definitely stay here again, for sure.

Sincere thanks to everyone at IQs Charming House!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at IQs Charming House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you, Stafforshire, Our Charming House iQs in Campiello Querini faces the lovely and profoundly “Venetian” rio Santa Maria Formosa. The gondolas that glide under the windows and that go all the way to Ponte dei Sospiri (Bridge of Sighs) make the atmosphere in the hotel truly magical. I love this place and I am happy that my guests love it as I do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We are so happy we chose this hotel. The location is just perfect - quiet place with only a short walk from tourist spots. The place is modern and clean. The staffs are most helpful. Love everything especially coffee (in room Nespresso machine). We will definitely recommend the place for anyone visiting Venice. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoiBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmingHouseiQs, Proprietario at IQs Charming House, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear guest I am happy to thank you and I’m glad you liked your apartment for the peace of mind, for its strategic location in proximity to major attractions of the city.
really you understood that everything comes from love for my work and passion for design and contemporary art. It will be my pleasure to have you again soon in the suites of Querini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IQs Charming House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IQs Charming House

Property: IQs Charming House
Address: Castello, 4425, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Family Hotel in Venice
#39 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IQs Charming House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qs are the latest addition to the Charming House family. It is a place where you will feel like at home, where you can offer yourself the luxury of unique suites, behind Piazza San Marco, with canal view on the famous Rio di Santa Maria Formosa, right where its waters take a turn before meeting the Gran Canal under the Bridge of Sighs. The interior is a Gothic courtyard with a well-curb. Contemporary design and art complete the wonderful location. Whether you are traveling for business or pure pleasure, the Charming House i Qs is the ideal place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your IQs Charming House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iqs Charming House Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing