We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bad Luxury Sceena’ (SINA)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SINA Centurion Palace
Ranked #57 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Bad Luxury Sceena’ (SINA)”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The hotel is in a quiet corner of the Dosoduro district near the Peggy Guggenheim and the new contemporary art museum in the old customs house. Our duplex canal-view suite (it was the honeymoon, we went crazy) at 760euro/$1,000+ a night looked great when we checked in, but then the unreliable hot water, mold in the “death trap” shower, broken TV set, “Holiday Inn” amenities and an upstairs bed and a long walk downstairs to the bathroom, turned a luxury suite into a disappointment. The “gym” was a few machines stuck in the attic. There was an additional charge for the internet. The staff at the ample breakfast couldn’t have been nicer, but the very poorly-informed and sometimes lackadaisical and other times inexperienced front desk staff did send us off on one great find (a terrific English speaking tour guide Mrs Bastianello who grew up in the Cannaregio district) but several misadventures (wrong address for a terrible local district restaurant in the pouring rain, strong recommendations for a tourist trap restaurant near San Marco square ($60 pasta dishes), informing us that a museum was closed that we luckily stumbled across and found open, being sent off on a “free tour” of Murano to be pressured into buying 4500 Euro vases). All and all, an average hotel promoting the word “luxury” but not delivering.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank columbuscirclenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    215
    60
    25
    13
See reviews for
125
602
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed 2 nights last week before our trip down the Adriatic Coast and loved every minute of it! The location is perfect, at the end of the Grand Canal right across the canal from the Gritti Palace. We booked the superior room with free breakfast. Breakfast was a great selection of meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, and even champagne! We sat outside overlooking the canal both mornings. The bar was open late even during the week which allowed us to have a nice cocktail after spending the night walking the streets of Venice. The staff treated us like VIPs, great service as they were easily accessible and knowledgeable in offering best ways to squeeze a weeks worth of Venice into 2 days.
We had a wonderful experience and would refer them in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saladay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
many thanks for the exquisite words of appreciation posted in occasion of your October-stay at Centurion Palace. We are glad you enjoyed every minute at Centurion Palace: we always do our upmost to render our Guests' stay a most memorable one! We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a very near future.
Considering ourselves at all times at your complete disposal, please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

When we arrived at the Centurion, the lady at the desk said : This room and the view is the best of Venice". She was right. After a 4 night stay at the Centurion I'm sure we had the best hotel in Venice. If by any chance you can have room 401, you"ll see that it's really amazing. Perfect location in Dorsoduro right between François Pinault and Peggy Guggenheim art museums and very easy to cross to San Marco with a 1 euro gondola ride that crosses the Grand Canal.
Absolutely everyone at the Centurion is nice and helpful. All restaurants recommandations were great. The ladies at the breakfast room were all smiles and tending to all our needs. Be sure to find the time to go to Murano et Burano which are 2 incredible islands. The hotel offers a free ride in a beautiful private boat.
We will be back in Venice and certainly at the Centurion Palace

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveCP, Executive office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
everyone at Centurion Palace join me in thanking you so much for having posted such a nice review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Centurion Palace, and found our location a great one. Should you ever plan to come back to the most romantic city in the world, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed at the Centurion for 2 nights. Got a great deal, even in the height of the summer tourist season. The Centurion is a former palace that has been turned into a hotel. The location at the southern part of the grand canal, across from the more touristy part of the city, made it a much more relaxing place to stay. And it's only a 10 minute walk from St. Mark's square because it's right near one of the 3 bridges that cross the Grand Canal. It's also right near a vaporetto stop and next to the wonderful Peggy Guggenheim art museum. The rooms were contemporary with nice bathrooms and ammenities. A breakfast buffet with good quality and variety was included with my room. The only problem I had were these modern, touch on/off reading lights that went on by themselves in the middle of the night. The managment told me they were in the midst of replacing them, and took care of my bar bill to compensate. Overall, a recommended alternative to the traditional Venice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBAR_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Although of an "old world" palatial style on the outside (a perfect fit for Venice), the interior has a luxurious, trendy look which we loved. Our room was large with a high timber beamed ceiling, lots of storage, mirrored double closet, extremely comfortable beds, flat screened tv, touch lamps, large bath with golden floors and walls and a high pressure rain shower. The room was very quiet, perfect for sleeping after a long day of sight seeing. No complaints here. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy - and we stayed at fantastic hotels in each location. We ate right on the Grand Canal, facing the Gritti Palace, watching the boats coming and going. Service was top notch and we were pleased to have lox, fresh squeezed juice and champagne every morning. Emmanuel runs a great hotel. The courtyard is lovely as well as the bar area. Wish we were still there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Loved the Centurion, was there with partner for one night before joining a cruise. The hotels is modern, quirky with bags of class. Quite glam in places and rather understated in others - nice balance. Very cool to arrive by taxi on it's private jetty, and sitting right on the river for late night cocktails then for breakfast is a must. Found the room a little small but loved the decor (gold leaf 'everything' in the bathroom, fab!)
It's on the quieter side and is a bit of a walk if youi dont want to wait for the river bus but I would def recommend...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Location perfect: There's no need for anything else than public transport if you're coming from the Marco Polo. Public and cheap express bus goes to Venice and from there you can take the Vaporetto directly to the hotel (Stop: Salute) right next to the hotel.

Rooms: Great. Our room had it's own roof terrace.

Breakfast: Perfect!

Price: Venice is expensive and so is this hotel, but compared to other hotels with the same standard, it's definitely OK

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoff-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SINA Centurion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SINA Centurion Palace

Property: SINA Centurion Palace
Address: Dorsoduro 173, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#52 Family Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — SINA Centurion Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SINA Centurion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Palace Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing