We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ranked #21 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Visit to Venice”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I started with Venice for a tour of Italy and this was an amazing way to kick off the trip. The hotel was not difficult to find if you use the PDF map from the website. The manager was also helpful in sending water-taxi instructions after our booking; follow those closely and you will have no problem.
Tucked away 5 minutes from the Rialto, this hotel was in the heart of a genuine old-town Venice neighborhood. It overlooks a square with a great little bakery and coffee shop, and it is nearly a straight shot to a larger S Maria Formosa square where you can have wine / lunch a little off the beaten path.
The staff was incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions and sightseeing recommendations. They were also very attentive and did a fantastic job keeping the place spotlessly clean. This is my favorite hotel out of all my recent travels (France, Germany, Switzerland), and I look forward to going back for my next trip to Venice. Perfect for young and old couples alike, but the quieter environment might not be suitable for crews looking for a rowdy time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    308
    50
    7
    14
See reviews for
137
644
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

For a 2 night stay in this hotel, we paid a total of €350 which is pretty good in Venice. When people say it's expensive to stay in Venice, it's the truth. Unless of course one would rather suffer staying at an infested hotel then maybe you can get away with less that €150 a night. But this hotel was worth it. We were given a really big room.
The bathroom has complete amenities, no bath tub though.
The bed was king size, with royal decor.
There was a safe in-room, which is very important in Europe...because you never know.
Our room was close to the front desk so we didn't really worry much in terms of the safety of our belongings.
Breakfast was delivered to us every morning.
Unfortunately, we entered the hotel, there was no elevator. So my poor husband had to carry both of our heavy luggage up 2 flights of stairs. And even on that height, during the night we can hear loud people from outside. I wasn't sure how I fell asleep with such loud noise but maybe because the city tire me out.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be more quiet during the night. Avoid coming home too late in the night by yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnCasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is very easy to find, please try not to take into consideration the reviews that say otherwise. The clip from Youtube is perfect (we downloaded it for our phones but I guess you could play it on most media devices), it shows a lot of landmarks that help you and guide you to get there (we used some of these landmarks so we don't get lost to San Marco, too). After all, Venice is a quite singular city, it is inevitable you will get lost there at least once, no matter where you stay. But for the arrival at the hotel (with the help of the video) it is not the case.

Next. We stayed in a standard room, we didn't want to pay extra for the suite. But it was a good choice, the room was very clean (although the toilet was a bit sloppy - but I tend to get obsessed by this kind of matter) and spacious. The floor was quite cold (there were no carpets in the standard room), so don't forget to take slippers. A big plus is the heat. The room is nice and warm in winter days. And also very quiet.

The location is perfect, max a 10 minutes walk to San Marco Square (if you don't get lost, of course - we managed to do that a couple of times - but it is useful to remember some landmarks to find your way through Venice; we found it quite fun to get lost in Venice, though).

Bottom line, it was the perfect location to stay, very close to San Marco and Rialto Bridge, clean and confortable; also good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IulianaNechifor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Beware first timers to Venice, we spent 3nights here and we watched the 'you tube' video and downloaded the map but once we arrived we still got lost. Trying to navigate through the narrow vibrant streets and limited street signs, over bridges with luggage was not ideal. Also at the end of a day sightseeing we were tired and frustrated trying to find where we were staying. The hotel room and bathroom are descent size with nice furnishings and luxury toiletries. Our view was an elevator shaft and wall and the staff did not make any effort to offer a map or sightseeing suggestions. Breakfast was extra, which we did not try and preferred to explore local bakery's or bistro style. To really see Venice at its best and ease of access we would recommend spend a little extra to stay at a Hotel on the water.

Room Tip: Hotel Centrally located, no water views. If you have very little luggage(stairs only) ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollipopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fantastic and friendly service, very clean room and comfortable. Using the Youtube video directions (downloaded to my iPod) it was a breeze to find. Very nicely located, with the Rialto Bridge in easy reach on one side and S. Marco's a relatively short walk on the other side. Lots of good restaurants nearby. My friend and I had a late flight out, and were able to check our bags while we did some last minute sightseeing. Overall a great experience, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midenianscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our family of four stayed for 2 nights originally booking a double & a twin room. Upon arrival the double room was upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful. Rich carpets and furnishings and plenty of space. The twin room was pretty standard with marble floor with carpet mats. Both rooms had lovely clean bathrooms. It was raining when we arrived in Venice, so our map we had printed with instructions didn't last long.
We were picked up immediately by a local who offered to show us where to go, but ended up taking us the long way round - over 3 or 4 canal bridges instead of the 2 shown in our directions! He then put out his hand and wasn't happy with what we gave him... Once you know where the hotel is, it is easy to find.
We had breakfast in the cake shop at the first bridge both mornings, they open early at 6am.
A delightful stay in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPJP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Ca Bragadin Venice

I will start off with the good things about this hotel, because it was a nice place to stay. The room we stayed in was large. We had a queen size bed and a pull out couch (though my friend said it was uncomfortable). There were huge windows that opened to small Juliette balconies. There was a table and 2 chairs in room, a desk a wardrobe and doors that closed off the bathroom area, if wanted. The bathroom was nice. The shower was a good size. There were nice toiletries provided. There was an old style hair dryer as well. The staff is there 24 hrs a day and they are helpful enough. There are motion censored lights in the hallways that turn off after 2 seconds if you don't keep moving (turned off at night constantly as we were trying to get to our room). You have to turn your key in each time you leave the hotel.

The negative things are mostly related to the location. It was near impossible to find. The maps of Venice are extremely hard to follow (and I am really good with maps and directions). It's kind of a game to just find your way along the way, no matter where you go. We ended up leaving the map and just asking people on the way. The other thing I did not like was that we were charged for breakfast but didn't get it bc we left too early the next morning to catch our flight home. They would not remove the breakfast fee.

Overall, I would recommend finding another place that is easier to find. This hotel wasn't close enough to any site to make it worth finding.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 386 in Venice
1,011 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#27 of 458 in Venice
586 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#23 of 458 in Venice
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#18 of 458 in Venice
616 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#19 of 458 in Venice
645 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#17 of 458 in Venice
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Bragadin Carabba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Bragadin Carabba

Property: Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Address: Castello 6041 | Sottoportego Scaletta, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Bragadin Carabba 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Bragadin e Carabba offers luxurious rooms and a friendly atmosphere in a quiet square, just a 5-minute walk from Venice's Rialto Bridge. Rooms come with LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, and independent heating. Ca' Bragadin's accommodation is spacious and decorated with classic 18th-century Venetian furnishings. Rooms enjoy views on the private gardens or on a typical Venetian side street, suites have 2 balconies overlooking the square. Ca' Bragadin e Carabba is a 14th-century Gothic building in the peaceful Campo Santa Marina. The property was home to different historic figures including Casanova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca' Bragadin Carabba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Bragadin Carabba Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing