We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, quiet hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' Bragadin Carabba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ranked #23 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Spent a long weekend in April 2011 at this hotel. The rooms were lovely and clean, the staff were friendly and helpful....couldn't fault it to be honest. Never having been to Venice before i was unsure about the location, and was slightly concerned at the closeness to the Rialto and the Piazza (or how close it appeared on the map ), but i couldn't have been more pleased, the front of the hotel looks out onto a quiet square, away from the hussle and bustle of tourist Venice, but close enough to be in easy reach if thats what youre looking for. A gem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_Wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    277
    47
    6
    13
See reviews for
114
592
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband has always wanted to go to Venice for his 30th and I spent hours searching for a nice hotel we could afford. This did the trick!

In Venice you really have to stay close to a landmark so the youtube directions and proximity to the Rialto Bridge make it convenient. Try Susu for gelato! The inside has been renovated in the last few years so it is so nice. We stayed in a classic room but it was a great size with high ceilings, room to walk around and a big bathroom. We didn't get the breakfast b/c it didn't seem worth 12 euro but there are great pastry shops and a little grocery nearby. There is 24 hour reception. I really thought this place was great!

Quirks: wifi costs 5 euro an hour
They have a/c but don't turn it on 'til June
My husband had some allergy issues b/c it is an old building (even though it's spotless and new interior... just bring some allergy medicine if that's a problem for you)
I got cold one night but they couldn't turn the heater on... had 3 extra blankets but my husband was fine with one (I'm cold-natured)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyphenista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed for a week at the beginning of April. The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly. The 24 hour on duty door really worked and was always promptly dealt with. The standard room that we had overlooking the side street was dark even in the day but spacious and beautifully furnished. It was tactfully serviced. A good stay. The directions provided by a fellow traveller on this site were brilliant and got us there first go.

Room Tip: Go up a grade for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterMartin186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

This place really is great - very comfortable with a "boutiquey" feel and relaxed, very friendly staff. We paid well under £400 for 6 nights in a "classic" room during what is technically the off-season. Best things were the size of the bed (larger than a king) and the bathroom, spacious with a great shower cubicle so the absence of a bathtub wasn't felt. The hotel is about as central as you can get in Venice and we were able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

First thing - do email the hotel asking for the youtube link and their location map (much better than the standard maps) otherwise you'll never find it. They also helpfully sent us the timings of the waterbus from the airport. I'd read the reviews before we set off and I was dreading finding it - in the end with the info the hotel sent it turned out to be simple.Location wise its very central, a short walk from the Rialto Bridge and Grand Canal and not far from St Marks.

The outside of the hotel is unprepossesing to say the least in a narrow passageway smelling of faintly of wee. The door opens on a dark empty room (cue very black looks from my other half as I'd booked it!). Up the stairs is a small reception (seemed to be manned 24hrs) and our double suite was just off this.

The room itself was great - clean, very large bed, good amount of space and sitting area. We had large windows facing out of the main square and other than the noise of suitcases being pulled outside day and night it was relatively quiet and a pleasant if unexceptionable view from the chairs next to the windows. The bathroom was ok - no bath,no light over the mirror and no shelf in the shower to place products (a full bottle of shower gel plunging off a narrow window ledge and onto your foot is not a great start to the day!). Ladies, bring your own hairdryer, you won't regret it!

The receptionists were helpful and pleasant but the services are pretty basic - mini bar, coffee and croisant in your room at 4 Euro's or a 12 Euro breakfast. There is no room service and they have no tie in with a local restaraunt to have a small selection of food delivered to guests (sandwiches, pizza's etc). Their cheapest bottle of wine is 20 Euro's. You pass a Co-op on the way to the hotel (its about a minute away) where we bought coffee, croissants etc to save on cost.

There are a couple of simple things the hotel could do to improve (do something with the horrible empty entrance room, shelf in the shower etc) but we had a lovely room at a very very reasonable price. I would recommend it and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

While the Bragadin Carabba was a little hard to find at first, even though just about 5 minutes from the Rialto Bridge, it was a wonderful place to stay. The room was AWESOME, the staff was AWESOME, and the breakfast was well worth the cost... Had been a long time since I had a soft boiled egg! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superman622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during our Spain-Italy trip and it was by far our best accommodation of the trip, We got the 2 rooms on promotion and that made this hotel a special deal! The room was clean, had nicely design and well-equipped with facilities. The location may be a little confusing at first but after you get lost for a few times, the hotel is very easy to reach. The hotel staff were very helpful and gave us the best Italian hospitality we experienced. The breakfast was nice and I will recommend this to everyone going to Venice!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puranut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#22 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#21 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#17 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Palazzo Odoni
Palazzo Odoni
#12 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Angeli
Ca' Angeli
#9 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Cannaregio
3749 Ponte Chiodo
3749 Ponte Chiodo
#29 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Bragadin Carabba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Bragadin Carabba

Property: Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Address: Castello 6041 | Sottoportego Scaletta, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Bragadin Carabba 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Bragadin e Carabba offers luxurious rooms and a friendly atmosphere in a quiet square, just a 5-minute walk from Venice's Rialto Bridge. Rooms come with LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, and independent heating. Ca' Bragadin's accommodation is spacious and decorated with classic 18th-century Venetian furnishings. Rooms enjoy views on the private gardens or on a typical Venetian side street, suites have 2 balconies overlooking the square. Ca' Bragadin e Carabba is a 14th-century Gothic building in the peaceful Campo Santa Marina. The property was home to different historic figures including Casanova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ca' Bragadin Carabba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Bragadin Carabba Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing