We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah Gino (and staff) - perfetto!!”
Review of Bar Da Gino

Bar Da Gino
Ranked #851 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ah Gino (and staff) - perfetto!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Being in a busy tourist city can occasionally being a trifle lonesome - but there is no chance of that if Bar de Gino is your local coffee shop and bar. From 6.30 am to 7pm, Gino and the wonderful staff - who remember your likes and dislikes - the capuccino first and later Americano, and what is your choice of beer or wine later in the day - are always welcoming. I liked the early morning when the regulars and Gin and staff (family?) chaffed each other, or a pastry was cut in half for the kids on their way to school; laterin the day there were the card players in the corner, and the ladies coming back with their shopping. And the warm and incredibly tasty pastries in the morning - or the extraordinarily fresh and well-filled sandwiches - and the coffee - not just good but REALLY good coffee. Yep - this was great and memorable place (and great value)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hopingfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    130
    71
    36
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great find.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After searching for somewhere for a coffee and a sit down after pounding the streets of Venice in the rain, this place was a welcome oasis. With most places charging upwards of €5 for a coffee, to see a cafe charging a more reasonable €2.50 for an excellent caffe latte was a refreshing change.

One thing I will say though is don't go in if you're wearing an AC Milan shirt. Judging by the Inter memorabilia on the walls, you may get a bit of teasing from the staff!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OneBigFeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant close to the Santa Lucia station”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice bar and restaurant close to the railway station, decorated with historical ads. Very nice staff with the owner always working here. Can recommend especially very good pasta.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DenisaSmidova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently stayed in Venice for a fortnight, and this was our daily breakfast destination. The coffee was really excellent, the best we had in the city. The staff are charming and helpful, and by the time we left, were happily providing our breakfast coffees and pastries without our even asking! We also dropped by in the early evening for a spritz or two. It is well situated very close to the Accademia and there is nothing more pleasant than sitting outside watching the world go by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahopefultraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Me and the wife stopped here for some rest and it was a really charming little cafe/bar.

I had a latte and my wife had the thickest, richest cup o' hot chocolate I've ever seen!
It was basically a liquified brownie.

Great place if you wanna sit and watch some people!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Da Gino also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bar Da Gino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing