We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem, Great Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria da Carla

Osteria da Carla
Ranked #164 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Marco
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little Gem, Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

It is hard to imagine how a small subtle place like this with only 6-8 tables and a food bar (where the cold plates are prepared behind) can produce great food, recipes and flavours that you won't meet in the big cities and if you do, you will pay big $$. They are very organised (all cold food is in white tapered boxes) and they have good wines. Its not about comfort or romance; its hustle and bustle, people are in line to fit i, but its all about the food; give it a try.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveleagle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    202
    75
    33
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Avoid da Carla”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We read mixed reviews about Da Carla but decided to give it a chance based on what we read in the positive reviews. It was the only mistake we made while eating in Venice The ambiance was dreadful, with loud sounds bouncing off the walls almost painful. Conversation was out of the question. Our pasta with tomato sauce and monkfish was good, but it's not a place where one would want to linger and enjoy the food. We ordered wine by the glass and the serving was so small we felt like we were being robbed. Eating anywhere else would have been a better choice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were only in Venice for two days and one night and literally found this restaurant by accident while wandering some of the tiny streets between our hotel (Novecento Boutique Hotel) and Piazza San Marco. We were early as it was around 7pm when we came upon it. There was a young Italian man eating something that looked amazing so we sat down for dinner without reservations. We were lucky, as the placed filled up within twenty minutes with mix of locals and tourists with reservations. Definitely one of our best meals in Italy! I had a gorgeous lasagne with fresh pasta and my husband had a sea bass cooked in a pouch. We also had some delicious roasted vegetables and dessert along with the house wine. It was superb, and the total cost was no more than 50 euros. Service was attentive but not rushed. Would really recommend this place, but make reservations to be safe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karenm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A quality experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have eaten here on previous visits and once again it lived up to expectations. We ate twice here during our recent visit - a dinner and lunchtime meals. Both were of a high standard and thoroughly recommended.

It might be useful to make a reservation for dinner but lunchtime you can be more spontaneous and usually do not need to book. Close to St Marks Square but nicely hidden away from passing tourists.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Korky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place where in an area I normally wouldn't eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I took my parents for their first visit to Venice. This place was recommended by a local that I knew. The place was small but decent food. Had a pasta with squid ink in it, was great. The bill wasnt too bad either. Def give it a try.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whip383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria da Carla also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria da Carla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing