We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They could have cared less if we were there”

Antica Trattoria Bandierette
Ranked #359 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“They could have cared less if we were there”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were walking in this part of town around dinner time and this place looked full of people enjoying their meal. We should have picked up on it sooner that they were less than interested in us and just kept walking but we didn't so we were in store for a mediocre experience.

The food was fine. We ordered the scallops app, a salad, a nightly special pasta dish and piece of fish. The food wasn't really the problem but didn't taste as good when the server was fairly short with us. Truly he could have cared less if we were dining there - which put a bad taste in our mouth.

We would not go back and do not recommend to tourists. I think they were disappointed that we were tourist and we were disappointed that they were rude. Even if language is a barrier - you can still make light of a situation and let your diners feel welcome to your restaurant - there's a difference.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    87
    23
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked seafood”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in an apartment near the Castello Sestiere of Venice. This restaurant was recommended by our landlord and we returned there frequently during out visit to Venice. The service is gracious and informal. Above all, the grilled fish (bronzino or sole) was always perfectly cooked. Prices are reasonable. Excellent pasta, too. I wish we had such lovely low-key place here in Boston.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tobytlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to ignore”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Impostors like many restaurants in Venice and who does not deserve to exist any longer: a restaurant with a nice and typical front window, few bottles on the wall, an attractive menu. But here's what we have behind the scenes: two microwave steamers and basta! As a result meals are tasteless (the one taken: cannelloni with swordfish) and full of water... Even the tomato sauce was not homemade (tin)! How can we love this job without the love of cooking and fresh products?
For helping the world to move forward in the right direction don't stop to this restaurant even for having a look at the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing and authentic seafood experience”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant whilst exploring the quieter side of Venice. It is small but opens onto a lovely little (and I mean little) piazza.It is run by an old couple who whilst the husband may seem surly, is actually just due to a lack of English. The wife though tries her best and laughs along with you as you try out your Italian. But they are both lovely and help as much as they can.
We ate the recommendations - lobster pasta and pasta con canoce (although to this day we still are not sure what canoce is) but both were amazing seafood pastas. Delicious subtle flavours of the lobster and the canoce a more tomato based sauce. 350ml bottle red wine and an Italian beer €41. Highly recommend - would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tokyostar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the wander”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were intentionally getting lost in Venice and found this place for a cozy meal and good wine. The meals are seafood based (even the pasta dishes) and were pretty good. Good food is hard to find in Venice, but we had an unexpectedly good experience here! The waitress was likely the owner, or clearly had a vested interest in the success of the restaurant. We asked for her favorite glass of wine and she was eager to start up a conversation with us in all Italian. It was a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XmenMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria Bandierette also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antica Trattoria Bandierette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing