We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ai Due Principi
Ranked #155 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok hotel in a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location not far from St Marks square. It is easy to get to from the waterbus, and as noted by others, you don't need to lug a suitcase all over venice to get to it. The rooms are decent (we had a standard room) for the price and probably very good value compared to the rest of Venice. Breakfast is a standard continental with enough choice to keep you happy. If you are just after a decent stay in Venice then this is a good choice...if you want a romantic, memorable experience in a fantastic or quaint boutique hotel then this place probably won't work for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    161
    41
    11
    20
See reviews for
71
290
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

I recently stayed at this wonderful hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel in located in the Castello district of Venice very close to St. Mark's Square. One
of the nicest hotels around with elevator and recently remodeled. The room was quiet,
and very comfortable. It also included a nice breakfast selection and wi fi internet connection.
I received much personalized attention from the owner and her staff.
I would highly recommend staying here if you are in Venice and I plan on returning here
on my next trip to Venice next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veneziaamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

This hotel is fantastic. It is tucked away on a small canal, but only 2-3 walking minutes away from the San Zaccharia water bus stop. It is very important to note that there are no stairs or bridges that need to climbed when walking from the water bus. We witnessed many tourists lugging their suitcases up the bridges on the way to their hotel and felt very fortunate / smart for not having that experience.

The hotel's lobby is very stylish and modern. We were greeted by an english speaking staff member who checked us in and gave us some general tips about Venice. He continued to be helpful throughout our stay and even went out of his way to help us charge our iPod when we realized we forgot the charger.

Our Superior room was large by any standard, North American or otherwise. It was decorated in a modern, but comfortable style. Our bathroom was just insane. The pictures we saw on TA were the reason we stayed here, and why you should too.

A few notes:
- People that complain about the noise are crazy. We did notice that you can faintly hear some music in the room during the day, but it seemed to be coming from a bar that closed around 9pm.
- The shower in our bathroom had no edges to it, so the entire bathroom basically flooded every time we showered. Not that big a deal since they provided us with slippers, but still a bit annoying. Maybe it's done that way to make it wheelchair friendly?
- They charge a reasonable fee for wireless internet access in the room. It worked fine, but at the rate we paid the internet should be free.
- If you stay here, you must have a spritz in the courtyard. We could have spent the rest of our lives relaxing out there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skoch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

Niice, clean and great location. Breakfast is great a little bit of everything. Cristina very attentive in pleasing and making your stay perfect. Will go back and completely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walnutlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is a small 4*star hotel, near S Marcus square, rooms are spacious, clean and stylish!We booked trough their website the "roullette" and despite getting the standard room the price was still very good concerning the prices we have seen in other hotels in Venice!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

When I return to Venice this is the only hotel in which I will stay! The hotel is newly remodeled with state of the art construction, security (not that it is needed) and high end finishes! The staff I wish, I could take them all home. They were extremely gracious, sincere, and helpful. Funny how passerbys would often inquire if there were rooms available, being dissatisfied with there hotel accomodations. It wouldn't be long and you'd see them staying at the Hotel Ai Due Prinicipi at whatever the cost. Onething that was especially helpful for me was this is a very ecofriendly hotel. They do not use heavy chemical smelling cleaning agents and toxic chemical fragrances - thank god, no downy and formaldehyde in there bedding, window drapery or furniture. It's so beautiful, fresh and clean. Rooms spacious and luxurious like a palace and bathrooms were a work of art. Some might say the breakfast area is small, I disagree! The breakfast area was intimate, charming and full of being connected to the morning, cappuccino, your love and venice. Unless your an elephant I don't know why anyone would want for more space or food variety. Stay, stay, stay here look no further this is it! Also the location wow, just a few blocks off the main, busy touristy drag but right close to play on the grande canale during the day. Intimate, candlelite tables and couples embrace the streets as you walk to the hotel in the eve. Always greeted with a buongiorno or buonasera. IM IN LOVE! I can't believe I found and picked the perfect hotel. I told them they should be charging alot higher rates. It's worth every penny and much more. Mention you know Raquelle and they'll hook it up for you. Also book your reservation directly to the hotel !!!!! www.hotelaidueprincipi.com DO NOT USE UNITRAVEL they sux, they put there surcharge onto the room so you pay more and are completely inflexible when trying to change reservation dates. Unitravel won't even respond to you once you book with them. Hotel Principi should dump unitravel they make the hotel look bad and are simply not needed. The hotel stands for itself, fabulous fabulous, fabulous. Oh, did I mention I also came down with an ear infection so when I inquired about a doctor, they walked me to an Italian ENT and I got treated in like 15 minutes and had an antibotic. Talk about service. Enjoy you'll have no regrets.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venicealltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed here with my wife for part of our minimoon.

Firstly the positives - the location was excellent, tucked down a side street overlooking a quaint canal and only 4 minutes from St Marco's square.

Now for the negatives:

Obviously, if you have been to Venice before you will know that it is an expensive city so one cannot quibble on price as their rates are pretty par for the course. HOWEVER, as for the rooms, the suite and upgraded room we stayed in on our last night were quite small even by Venice standards and not exactly well designed either.

The boring and lackluster decoration aside, there was no air con in either of our rooms and only a heating system. This meant that we baked and woke up each morning with headaches. Please bear in mind that this was only April so heaven knows how this will be in the summer!! The one night we decided to cool the room down by opening the windows, was the same night we were attacked by three mosquitoes and bitten from head to toe.

My second fault is with the breakfast. If you go expecting a gourmet feast befitting of a 4 star hotel, you will be very disappointed. Every effort was made to make the breakfast as cheap as possible - day old bread rolls, sweaty cheese in small plastic wrappers, orange juice made from concentrate and horribly cheap jams. Fine for a 2 star hotel but not a 4 star one.

My final complaint is with the staff - we found them to be aloof at times, bordering on the arrogant and not very helpful at all. On are final day we asked one of the guys to tell us where we could catch a water bus to the airport from - a common request you might think but he told us the wrong bus stop and we almost missed our plane!

Overall, we had hoped for something more special for this part of our minimoon, but the hotel itself is very forgettable and indeed, considering the nights' sleep we had and the service we got, this is probably no bad thing. AVOID.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BearAlarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#137 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Castello
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
#194 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#68 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#54 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Castello
Palazzo Priuli
Palazzo Priuli
#183 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ai Due Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ai Due Principi

Property: Hotel Ai Due Principi
Address: Loc. Castello 4971/4972 | Fondamenta dell'Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#102 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ai Due Principi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Ai Due Principi Hotel is the exclusive and convenient choice for those who want to stay close to San Marco and Rialto in a modern space furnished with original and refined solutions. It has a privileged location, facing the canals and gardens of the historic district of Castello, inside a Venetian palace that has just been restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ai Due Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Due Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing