We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ai Due Principi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ai Due Principi
Ranked #158 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad at all...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We were a bit unsure about staying here, mostly because it looked a little too camp for our liking but... It's actually a good little hotel.

The location is it's strength, close to everything but on a really nice, quiet side canal. The decor is a little camp but in no way offensive and spotlessly clean.

Our room (202) was cosy and quiet. It was the smallest room with just enough space to walk round the bed but it didn't detract from its charm. I would ask for a larger room if I stayed again though.

The breakfast was very average but fine for a quick bite.

Defintately recommend a stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bennyboy303030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    161
    41
    11
    20
See reviews for
70
288
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked and PREPAID for their dual canal view room (non refundable) almost 4 MONTHS before our trip only to find ourselves in a room that overlooked the inside of the building. Went back to front desk and they said they don't know how that happened and the best they could do was offer a 40 Euro credit as the room with the view was taken.

We were in Venice for one night only and that's why we specifically booked the room that far ahead. Quite disappointing for what would have been a good hotel.

Last note is that breakfast was horrible so you're better off skipping it and doing your own thing

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

good location just 3 minutes walk from Piazza San Marco
Nice spacious rooms but staff unfriendly and unhelpful.
bathroom accessories had rust
Free wifi only 24 hours!
no kettle or shower gel while it is a 4 **** hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice quiet hotel 5 minutes walk from Piazza San Marco. Hotel location a little tricky to find when you first arrive but once you familiarise yourself to the short cuts it is very easy to find. The staff are very friendly but the hotel lobby/reception area is a little bit compact and underwhelming. Rooms are furnished in a very quirky way resembling more a boudoir than a guest bedroom. Layout was strange with our bathroom (in room 101) the smallest bathroom I have ever encountered with an outside shower that was viewable from the bedroom! Whoever designed these rooms needs to go on a design course. It was probably the owners spoilt and indulged wife perhaps? If so someone needs to have a word. Everything else was great. We had our young daughter with us on this trip which made us perhaps a little bit more aware of the quirkiness factor. Anyway we had a great time this aside. Buffet breakfast was excellent. All in all an enjoyable stay in Venice. Whilst this Hotel is very nice I think we will seek another one next time that is charming but a little less quirky and perhaps a little less impressed with itself.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Loved this hotel from the moment we arrived, very friendly staff, clean and large rooms, in a beautiful city! Definitely recommend this hotel to either families or couples. It is close to all restaurants and sightseeing, in fact our window had gorgeous views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamonds1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed between the 24th to the 28th November and on arrival had an issue with the room that had been reallocated due to an admin error. Though disappointed we made the most of what was my wife's longstanding dream to visit Venice, which I had booked as a birthday treat. I believe it was a genuine mistake so accepted a room in the middle of the hotel. (A very nice room, but not what I had booked). The hotel staff were courteous and helpful in assisting us to book a restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday on the first evening, which turned out to be excellent. Breakfast was very satisfying and plentiful with ample choice for any discerning guest with refills for tea and coffee on request. The rooms are special with high end boutique style furnishings and clean coordinated fabrics. Bathroom in our room was superb with a power shower, bidet and w.c. The sink was well lit and had good storage for your toilet bags and accessories. Location?- well the hotel was perfect, by the side of a scenic canal yet a matter of 200 to 300 metres from St Marks, yet quiet and functionally ideal for the traveller arriving by Alliaguna (Water taxi) which from the San Zaccaria jetty was only a five minute walk. This is a big plus unless you like back packing, as some hotels are far away from the main water taxi routes.
Would I use this hotel again? Absolutely, it's position and the courteous attitude of the staff coupled with the logistics of getting around the key sites in Venice make this a favourite choice and very good value.
I am more than happy to recommend this hotel to anyone...... You will enjoy!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Arriving by plane or train or car you take a water bus to the station ZACCHARIA which is one
stop away from San Marco. From there it is a short walk to the hotel. They will give you exact
instructions in an email if you contact them. Even with luggage (albeit on wheels) and in the dark
it was no problem to find the hotel. Even though the bustling city center is close by, the hotel
is very quiet. The service is efficient and friendly, English and German spoken. The building
was a noble mansion, located on a quiet side canal, rooms are appointed very nicely in the fashion of a manor house with modern bath rooms. The breakfast is a sumptuous buffet.
All attractions are easily accessible from this hotel by foot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bschl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#69 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#135 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Palazzo Priuli
Palazzo Priuli
#180 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#139 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#173 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ai Due Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ai Due Principi

Property: Hotel Ai Due Principi
Address: Loc. Castello 4971/4972 | Fondamenta dell'Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#102 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ai Due Principi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Ai Due Principi Hotel is the exclusive and convenient choice for those who want to stay close to San Marco and Rialto in a modern space furnished with original and refined solutions. It has a privileged location, facing the canals and gardens of the historic district of Castello, inside a Venetian palace that has just been restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Ai Due Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Due Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing