We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* , 'superior' room..really?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ai Due Principi
Ranked #158 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4* , 'superior' room..really?”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location and was clean and tidy, the room was very small but had a great bathroom. After staying there a couple of nights we noticed a number of annoying niggles. There were very few sockets in the room so was difficult to charge phones and other electrical items. There was a lamp on the desk but wasn't plugged in as there was no socket (what's the point? An ornament?) . While getting ready to go out we found the room too small for two of us and not one of the TV channels worked due to no signal. Normally I don't mind no TV as we are in holiday but if its there and the fact the hotel is a 4* hotel I expect better. Also one of the two bed side lamps had to be unplugged to turn it off as it was missing a switch. The breakfast range was also very limited. All in all I was really disappointed with the hotel especially as we upgraded to a 'superior' room.

Helpful?
3 Thank bikeboardsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    161
    44
    11
    21
See reviews for
73
295
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

And they are the tiniest of changes, so I do hope the management read and act. The hotel is in a good position, away from the tourist crush of St Mark's Square but within a few minutes walk. We got a water taxi across from the airport. The 120 Euro cost does hurt, but divided between 4/5 people is not that much more than the vaperetto. In an old building but beautifully and tastefully modernised. Our room was smallish (but we are in Venice!) but beautifully decorated. At last a hotel done with taste! The bathroom was one of the best I've had in any hotel - what a marvellous shower! No evening meals, but a very adequate breakfast (buffet style) in the morning. Small courtyard to relax in with a glass of wine after a day's sightseeing.
The desk staff were also delightful and could not have been more helpful.
My niggles: firstly the tv had 200 Italian channels and not one in English (or any other language!). Surely this can be changed. It's a tourist hotel and they expect the news in their own language. And secondly, and utterly inexplicably, the coffee at breakfast was DREADFUL. In Italy! There was a proper coffee machine in the little bar area, but that seemed unused. However, we took to drinking tea and ignored the tv - a small price to pay for such a delightful hotel. We'll be back!

Room Tip: They are all different, being an old building, but our friend's room was of an equally high stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very beautiful, clean and comfortable room. The bathroom was amazing. We book a room with view. So nice.
The staff is very honest. I forgot more than 600 EUR in the bed during my checkout. They found it and gave me back so quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FelipeSnege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

With so many choices for lodging in Venice, it is not an easy task to find a hotel that has a convenient location, a quiet atmosphere, cordial service and reasonable rates. How lucky we were to discover this lovely boutique hotel just a few minutes walk from the San Zaccaria water taxi stop.

Our room was quite comfortable, with all the amenities we required. The staff was available to help us navigate around this amazing city. Although we were not on the Grand Canal, the charming canal in front of the hotel provided the Venetian ambiance (without the crowds) that we had hoped for.

We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judylteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely boutique hotel with classy modern interior, minus the slightly garish qualities of some of the local competition. We had a large room at the back which was very quiet and the facilities were spotless. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

Great central location, right by the San Zaccaria water taxi stop which takes you to the airport in about 1 hour. Only a 7 minute walk to St Marco's Square but slightly off the main tourist track, making it an ideal base for those who who want somewhere quiet but central.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in Venice, 5 minutes' walk to the Vaporetto and San Marco Square. Room was big, very nice decorated, friendly service, clean, good quality-price. Breakfast is a little bit basic but did not reduce our nice experience in Venice. In other words, hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Starting with a positive, this is a very well located hotel close to St Mark's Square. It is also very handy for the San Zaccharia vaporeto and Alilaguna stop, so you do not have far to carry your luggage on arrival and departure. However I have say that I'm surprised by the numbers of positive reviews.
We booked this hotel through Voyage Privee. While we therefore got a good deal (or so we thought), we still paid around £550 for two nights, so this was not a cheap hotel.
On arrival at the hotel at around 11am we were told our room would not be ready until 2pm. We were hot and tired but were not offered a drink or made to feel at all welcome. On returning to the hotel after 2pm we found our room. The room was of a good size, and recently decorated. While some of the decoration was in my view a little strange, it was well done, and the bathroom was large and well decorated with a great shower. However despite the fact we had booked a room for 3 adults my 17 year old son had two very uncomfortable nights on a small folding camp bed.
We found that our safe did not work, and rang reception. We had expected that the person we spoke to would come and look at the safe, but no. He said there was nothing he could do, and it was only when we pressed that he came up. It turned out that he had a key which could operate the safe, which he did give us, but if we hadn't pushed we would have been left with nothing.
Breakfast was poor, essentially consisting of bread and croissants with juice. The coffee was good, but we were not offered another cup, although we did get a welcome smile from the lady serving. On our second day we had to leave at 7am, before breakfast started, but weren't offered a drink or anything to eat.
On checking out we received the same surly service we had had all through our stay. Is it really too much to expect a smile and a greeting?! Or even a thank you or goodbye? Our final account was also wrong and it took some time to strip out sums which the hotel was seeking to overcharge us (and no apology was made).
I visited Venice in March and stayed at the Stucky Hilton. I wished I had done so this time too. Honestly, while the rooms are fine, the hotel is badly run with unhelpful and incompetent staff. Do yourself a favour and avoid it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesleyandarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
#190 of 385 in Venice
248 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#139 of 385 in Venice
1,072 reviews
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#61 of 385 in Venice
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#64 of 385 in Venice
975 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#57 of 385 in Venice
691 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#73 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ai Due Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ai Due Principi

Property: Hotel Ai Due Principi
Address: Loc. Castello 4971/4972 | Fondamenta dell'Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#102 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ai Due Principi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Ai Due Principi Hotel is the exclusive and convenient choice for those who want to stay close to San Marco and Rialto in a modern space furnished with original and refined solutions. It has a privileged location, facing the canals and gardens of the historic district of Castello, inside a Venetian palace that has just been restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ai Due Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Due Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing