We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive! Yet very clean, safe, and convenient.”
Review of Bed & Venice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed & Venice
Ranked #145 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family of four stayed here during a heat wave in July 2012, getting a corner quad room with awesome views. The room was very basic, just 4 single beds, a desk, a wardrobe, two night stands, A/C (heavenly!), and three windows (with outside shutters to block the sun if you choose) looking out over beautiful Venice. We really liked this location and the views and the price (€158/night for 4 people). Not thrilled initially at the shared bathroom idea but it turned out not to be a big deal, mainly because when one is in Venice, not much time is spent in the hotel, right? The rooftop terrace offered commanding views, and the included breakfast was adequate: not great, not horrible. There was cold cereal, milk, orange juice, grapefruit juice, coffee and tea, croissants, a roll (butter, Nutella, jams provided).

When I walked from Piazza San Marco to the door of Casa per Ferie, it took me 6 minutes going at a comfortable rate early in the morning (meaning I didn't have to stop for tourists who hadn't arrived yet). It seemed quicker than that to me but I clocked it on my watch so that's what it was. This place and the neighborhood was quiet at night so sleep came easily. Oh, and very, very close by is a water taxi stop where you can catch a ride to Murano, back to the train station, or any number of stops.

You leave the key at reception because they buzz you in, 24/7. I liked not having to worry about carrying a key and finding it at the end of the day.

Upon checkout, they allowed us to keep our bags there for the day while we did more sightseeing and then retrieve them when we left Venice in the late afternoon. The staff was most accommodating to us. Nancy was really, really friendly and spoke English so she provided us with lots of helpful tips about Venice.

Note: This place requires that you book with a credit card to establish your reservation but you must pay *IN CASH* upon arrival. No credit cards accepted.

If you don't mind very basic but very clean, quiet, and safe rooms (that do have A/C--many budget places in Venice do not) and you don't mind sharing (one of several) bathrooms and you don't want to spend a lot of money on lodgings in Venice, I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal or Isla Maggiore rather than the courtyard (which is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travlintoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Bed & Venice, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Buongiorno!

I'm sorry for the late reply.
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to welcome you again here in the future!

In the last period we made some improvement to the building. But the prices are still very low (the lowest of Saint Mark's area)!!!

We are a great option to all those people who want to experience the center of Venice without spending a fortune but staying a very nice, clean and friendly stay with all the services you really need.

We still don't accept credit card for the payments at the check out, we need to save on their commission to keep our rates low!!!

Thanks again for your very nice review and have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

Pros: The location is great, and you get what you pay for with the rooms and bathrooms. Nothing special or comfortable, but very clean and fine for a night or two. Great terrace with views.

Cons: The staff we encountered were very unfriendly. When you arrive in Venice late at night and are stumbling around to find your hotel in the dark, the last thing you want is to be let in by someone so unpleasant. The "breakfast" that is included is pretty terrible, with the same unpleasant staff member brewing his own, real espresso while the guests are served drinks from one of those instant coffee vending machine things.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Bed & Venice, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Buongiorno!

I'm sorry for the very late reply to this review.

Please let me say that many things have changed since 2011. We have new friendly staff members and we also have improved services.

I hope to have the chance to show you that we are very different now!

I look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Casa per Ferie is in the remodeled, air-conditioned former orphanage behind La Pieta Church. The location is just a few minutes walk from San Marcos Plaza and the vaporettos.

The rooms are very clean and basic. Bathrooms are across the hall, but there were almost as many bathrooms as rooms so it was not a problem.

Breakfast was included with wonderfully fresh pastries. The rooms do not have TV, but there were 2 TV sets in the lounge areas. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

It was extremely hot when we visited Venice in late June and the close location and air-conditioning made for a wonderful visit to Venice despite the heat.

This is definitely a budget accommodation, but clean and a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Bed & Venice, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us. In the last period we improved a little our services and the building itself, but keeping the rates as they were!!!

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here. Have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2006

Santa Maria:Get more than what you bargained for...
Our family stayed at this place summer 0f 2005.Being categorized as a hostel I was a little worried as to what I had booked for the family.When we got to the place and to our pleasant surprise ,I was taken aback by the size,cleanlines,simplicity and the spectacular views offered by the huge sized glass windows.We will defenitely return to this place when we come back.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Pinacolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Mehmet Ali Ş
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MateoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
B&B in Venice Back to San Marco
Castello
Venice Hazel Guest House
Venice Hazel Guest House
#252 of 476 in Venice
170 reviews
Santa Croce
Residenza Al Doge Beato
Residenza Al Doge Beato
#242 of 476 in Venice
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
la chicca
la chicca
#104 of 476 in Venice
184 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Caburlotto
Casa Caburlotto
#113 of 476 in Venice
234 reviews
Castello
B&B Gli Angeli
B&B Gli Angeli
#192 of 476 in Venice
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Venice

Address: Calle de la Pieta' Castello 3701 | Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $122 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bed & Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Venice (in the same building of Istituto della Pietà di Venezia) it's the best solution for all those who wanna live Venice at a VERY CONVENIENT RATE.We are in the Heart of Venice, literally few steps from Saint Mark's Square. Many rooms are big enough for families, many can accommodate up to 6 adults! All equipped with Sat TV, air conditioning and heating. Our location and our rates are simply unbeatable!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bed & Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing