We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find but great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vecio Fritolin

Vecio Fritolin
Ranked #167 of 1,355 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Venice���s Vecio Fritolin is a much loved, characterful little restaurant near the Rialto Bridge in Santa Croce where people have been eating traditional Venetian food for over a century. It is one of the city���s few still-thriving fritolini, precursors of today���s fast food eateries, popular in the 1800s with both the rich and less well off. The scrumptious historic finger food is still served, alongside masterpiece variations on other local Venetian and Italian dishes. The seafood and vegetables come daily from the nearby Rialto Markets, and are on the constantly-changing menu within hours. Whether they stumble or deliberately step onto Vecio Fritolin's pink terrazzo floor, everyone's invariably glad they did.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Difficult to find but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

After passing by this restaurant that was written up in Departures Magazine several years ago, my husband was determined to haul 3 guapas around Venice until he found the restaurant. Let us just say we are glad he did. This was a spectacular meal away from the tourist traps and 11 Euro drink fees on San Marco Square. Very authentic Italian food-specializing in seafood. My 7 year old was able to order plain spaghetti with olive oil -so delicious that I kept stealing some of her homemade spaghetti.

Helpful?
Thank 3Guapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
many many thanks
best regards
Irina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    246
    81
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great restaurant & chef, away from the crowds and tourist traps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a classy restaurant with rustic décor tucked away in Venice. Loved the food, great service and they were happy to look after casually dressed dinners too. Good value for money if you want something a little more upmarket but not touristic.

Helpful?
Thank JBJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were a bit taken aback by the prices when we first looked at the menu: Venice is expensive, but still… however, when we had our meal, we were THRILLED with it: worth every cent. The seasonal salad was one of the most delightful dishes I've ever eaten: tender, earthy lettuce with a variety of herbs that I can't even identify, but kept on surprising me. And the whole thing was topped with slivers of raw artichoke -- but extraordinary ones: castraure from the purple artichokes of San Erasmo. These are the best carciofi in Venice, and the castraure are the tender buds nipped from the young plants, in order to force more buds from the main stalk; they are so tender that they don't need trimming and haven't yet developed a choke. Followed by pacchetti (pasta) filled with guinea fowl, on a pool of green herbal sauce that again channeled "spring." Then we had a fritto misto of calamari, shrimp, tiny Adriatic lobster tails and delicate vegetables that sent us soaring. The chef outdid him/herself!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Switzerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Many thanks, I home see you again.
Best regards
Irina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent meal at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great, friendly, service and delicious, fresh tasting food...plus a complimentary limoncello and petit fours with coffee. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
many many thanks
best regards
Irina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Venetian fare,prepared with love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is relatively small and has predominantly tables for two.
A few for 4 and one for six.Not a restaurant to visit with a company over 4,romantic for 2.
White linnen,very friendly staff.I went there for lunch this week,was surprised by the freshness and creativity of some of the dishes and we returned a few days later,also for lunch.Most customers were Italian locals.
In between my 2 visits a small part of the menu,in particular the primi piatti,changed and I take that as a good sign.No frozen products,the sauces to accompany the primi piatti were freshly made,very tasteful,and prepared with love.They take time to prepare the dishes,no hurry,relaxed atmosphere.Bravo.

Limited choice of main courses,good choice of antipasti.Wine list seems OK,but could exceed democratic prizing if not careful.Good Italian wines to be found for app. 25 euro a bottle.
I certainly consider to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Remco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecio Fritolin also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Vecio Fritolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing