We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find but great food”
Review of Vecio Fritolin

Vecio Fritolin
Ranked #149 of 1,459 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $84
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Vecio Fritolin from Venice is a loved, characterful little restaurant near the Rialto Bridge in Santa Croce where people have been eating traditional Venetian food for over a century. It's one of the cities where you still can find "fritolini", precursors of today's fast food eateries, popular in the 1800s with both the rich and less well off. The scrumptious historic finger food is still served, alongside masterpiece variations on other local Venetian and Italian dishes. The seafood and vegetables come daily from the nearby Rialto Market, and are on the constantly-changing menu within hours. Whether they stumble or deliberately step onto Vecio Fritolin's pink terrazzo floor, everyone's invariably glad they did.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

After passing by this restaurant that was written up in Departures Magazine several years ago, my husband was determined to haul 3 guapas around Venice until he found the restaurant. Let us just say we are glad he did. This was a spectacular meal away from the tourist traps and 11 Euro drink fees on San Marco Square. Very authentic Italian food-specializing in seafood. My 7 year old was able to order plain spaghetti with olive oil -so delicious that I kept stealing some of her homemade spaghetti.

Thank 3Guapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

many many thanks
best regards
Irina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Vecio Fritolin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 874 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a classy restaurant with rustic décor tucked away in Venice. Loved the food, great service and they were happy to look after casually dressed dinners too. Good value for money if you want something a little more upmarket but not touristic.

Thank JBJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were a bit taken aback by the prices when we first looked at the menu: Venice is expensive, but still… however, when we had our meal, we were THRILLED with it: worth every cent. The seasonal salad was one of the most delightful dishes I've ever eaten: tender, earthy lettuce with a variety of herbs that I can't even identify, but kept on surprising me. And the whole thing was topped with slivers of raw artichoke -- but extraordinary ones: castraure from the purple artichokes of San Erasmo. These are the best carciofi in Venice, and the castraure are the tender buds nipped from the young plants, in order to force more buds from the main stalk; they are so tender that they don't need trimming and haven't yet developed a choke. Followed by pacchetti (pasta) filled with guinea fowl, on a pool of green herbal sauce that again channeled "spring." Then we had a fritto misto of calamari, shrimp, tiny Adriatic lobster tails and delicate vegetables that sent us soaring. The chef outdid him/herself!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Switzerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Many thanks, I home see you again.
Best regards
Irina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great, friendly, service and delicious, fresh tasting food...plus a complimentary limoncello and petit fours with coffee. Would definitely eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

many many thanks
best regards
Irina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The restaurant is relatively small and has predominantly tables for two.
A few for 4 and one for six.Not a restaurant to visit with a company over 4,romantic for 2.
White linnen,very friendly staff.I went there for lunch this week,was surprised by the freshness and creativity of some of the dishes and we returned a few days later,also for lunch.Most customers were Italian locals.
In between my 2 visits a small part of the menu,in particular the primi piatti,changed and I take that as a good sign.No frozen products,the sauces to accompany the primi piatti were freshly made,very tasteful,and prepared with love.They take time to prepare the dishes,no hurry,relaxed atmosphere.Bravo.

Limited choice of main courses,good choice of antipasti.Wine list seems OK,but could exceed democratic prizing if not careful.Good Italian wines to be found for app. 25 euro a bottle.
I certainly consider to return.

Thank Remco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecio Fritolin also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Vecio Fritolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing