We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Venetian fare,prepared with love” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vecio Fritolin

Vecio Fritolin
Ranked #177 of 1,365 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Venice���s Vecio Fritolin is a much loved, characterful little restaurant near the Rialto Bridge in Santa Croce where people have been eating traditional Venetian food for over a century. It is one of the city���s few still-thriving fritolini, precursors of today���s fast food eateries, popular in the 1800s with both the rich and less well off. The scrumptious historic finger food is still served, alongside masterpiece variations on other local Venetian and Italian dishes. The seafood and vegetables come daily from the nearby Rialto Markets, and are on the constantly-changing menu within hours. Whether they stumble or deliberately step onto Vecio Fritolin's pink terrazzo floor, everyone's invariably glad they did.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Venetian fare,prepared with love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is relatively small and has predominantly tables for two.
A few for 4 and one for six.Not a restaurant to visit with a company over 4,romantic for 2.
White linnen,very friendly staff.I went there for lunch this week,was surprised by the freshness and creativity of some of the dishes and we returned a few days later,also for lunch.Most customers were Italian locals.
In between my 2 visits a small part of the menu,in particular the primi piatti,changed and I take that as a good sign.No frozen products,the sauces to accompany the primi piatti were freshly made,very tasteful,and prepared with love.They take time to prepare the dishes,no hurry,relaxed atmosphere.Bravo.

Limited choice of main courses,good choice of antipasti.Wine list seems OK,but could exceed democratic prizing if not careful.Good Italian wines to be found for app. 25 euro a bottle.
I certainly consider to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Remco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    247
    81
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

A fairly low key exterior. We came across it by chance and the menu looked very interesting. The service was very good- professional, efficient, welcoming and friendly. The food was superb and easily of a Michelin star standard. It was not expensive for the quality, although certainly not cheap - that's Macdonalds market. We had scallops to start and they were superb followed by baked cod with mint which was excellent. We will certainly go back. We recommend you make the effort to find this one, the other side of the Rialto bridge from St Marcs square. Typical Venetian cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Many thanks ,Mr Brian
I hope see you again.
sorry for my english
Irina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over-priced, over-salted, over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The least good food we had in Venice and the most expensive (E133 for 2 courses and house wine for 2 of us). The baby artichoke salad with herbs was an inelegant dump of greenery and flower petals in a bowl which had a bitter taste and was very salty. When I complained the smartly dressed waiter commented 'So you don't like fennel'. The fish fry was as you would get anywhere but dry with no slice of lemon or dressing to moisten it. Style and little substance with no sign of the chef or friendly patron who figure on the website.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank r0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durris, Scotland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had dinner on a Sunday evening. The service was outstanding, and we were made to feel really comfortable by our waiter who spoke excellent English. I had a starter of grilled octopus, my wife had grilled anchovies, and both dishes impressed. To follow, spaghetti with prawns and asparagus and the fried seafood were also fresh and very tasty. The menu choice was small compared to other restaurants, but the quality of the food was high.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for the review. The keeping a relatively low number of dishes on our menu is indeed a deliberate choice that allow us to work with stricly seasonal products (mostly in case of fish and vegetables). Please come to visit us again next time, thank you very much.
Irina Freguia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice near Ca'Pesaro Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

After the gallery, we noticed a nice 4* hotel on the water nearby. They didn't have a restaurant, but steered us toward this one.

A very nice place tucked away, locals and tourists. I had the fish of the day, my wife a pasta, it was a great choice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank astrolake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for the comment. Do not hesitate to come back next time you are in town. Thank you.
Irina Freguia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecio Fritolin also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Vecio Fritolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing