We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vecio Fritolin

Vecio Fritolin
Ranked #152 of 1,376 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Venice���s Vecio Fritolin is a much loved, characterful little restaurant near the Rialto Bridge in Santa Croce where people have been eating traditional Venetian food for over a century. It is one of the city���s few still-thriving fritolini, precursors of today���s fast food eateries, popular in the 1800s with both the rich and less well off. The scrumptious historic finger food is still served, alongside masterpiece variations on other local Venetian and Italian dishes. The seafood and vegetables come daily from the nearby Rialto Markets, and are on the constantly-changing menu within hours. Whether they stumble or deliberately step onto Vecio Fritolin's pink terrazzo floor, everyone's invariably glad they did.
Durris, Scotland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had dinner on a Sunday evening. The service was outstanding, and we were made to feel really comfortable by our waiter who spoke excellent English. I had a starter of grilled octopus, my wife had grilled anchovies, and both dishes impressed. To follow, spaghetti with prawns and asparagus and the fried seafood were also fresh and very tasty. The menu choice was small compared to other restaurants, but the quality of the food was high.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for the review. The keeping a relatively low number of dishes on our menu is indeed a deliberate choice that allow us to work with stricly seasonal products (mostly in case of fish and vegetables). Please come to visit us again next time, thank you very much.
Irina Freguia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    259
    87
    55
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice near Ca'Pesaro Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

After the gallery, we noticed a nice 4* hotel on the water nearby. They didn't have a restaurant, but steered us toward this one.

A very nice place tucked away, locals and tourists. I had the fish of the day, my wife a pasta, it was a great choice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank astrolake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for the comment. Do not hesitate to come back next time you are in town. Thank you.
Irina Freguia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treat for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We chose Fritolin to celebrate a significant birthday. From previous visits we knew to pace ourselves: go easy on the home made bread if you want to have space for dessert. The soft shelled crab was sublime, while the catch of the day (turbot) and marinated cod were delicious. Sweet wine with biscotti rounded the meal off perfectly. This restaurant is not cheap but the experience is unforgettable. The staff are friendly and helpful. One of the best meals we have had for a long time. We'll be back next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
many thanks.
sorry but I dont speack english
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“True Venetian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We absolutely loved it. Some of the previous reviewers on here missed the point completely. The name implies (for those who understand Venetian) a fry up. Done properly, it's feather like tempura, no greasy spoon fare. Our fried moleche and artichoke hearts were out of this world. Main course of sea bass was perfection and those who tried the old fritto misto classic where in for a fantastic treat. Service was impeccable, Irina and staff, thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pol1010101010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Many many ,many thanks.
sorry for my english.
best regards
Irina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We chose Vecio Fritolin on our first night in Venice as it was close to our hotel and we didn't want to run the gauntlet of getting lost before we had got our bearings.

What we found was a beautiful restaurant with a bustling atmosphere and very helpful staff. The food was excellent, baccala and polenta for starter for myself and the saffron rice pudding for my girlfriend. Both were beautiful, as was the large plate of various fried seafood and vegetables that we had as our mains.

We enjoyed a nice glass of wine alongside the food, and although the final bill was a tad steep it was nice to splash out a little for a very good meal the day after our engagement and on our first night in the city. Would certainly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Many thanks, sorry for my english. I hope see you again.
regards
Irina Freguia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecio Fritolin also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Vecio Fritolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing