We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheats on the bill. Food terrible.”

Trattoria San Basilio
Ranked #662 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheats on the bill. Food terrible.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Beware of this place!! Overpriced and terrible food. They also added 20 euros on the bill for nothing! we had to argue about the bill too. We ordered two pastas which were so salty we could not even eat it. The prices on te door are diferrent to the menus. When we complained the waiter said that was how it should be. They are cheats and prey on tourists the two tables next to us also had problems with their bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank light11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    46
    10
    2
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Lovely place right on the canal!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Roberto the owner was terrific!!! we loved this little restaurant situated right on the canal - table by the water - we visited here on 3 occassions and were treated like royalty evrytime!! - Thanks Roberto and all teh team!!! the food was delicious!! teh pasta...mama mia!!
ciao and grazie!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robbo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“a good place to take a little break”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This restaurant is a great place to spend a short break. The price range is cheap and the food and drinks are pretty good. The terrace is a lot of passing walkers and boats, so viewing is enough. The place is for tourists, so do not expect anything for an unforgettable Italian experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mallo_Pahanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Best at service, bad at billing”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Trattoria San Basilio is a tiny restraurant, far from the typical tourist places in Venice, but it's location made it perfect for couples. Stefano, the owner is the friendliest man in Venice, but not for everyone, he select his guests. We were lucky, so we got hist table at the corner. We ordered salad, fish, cheese, dolce, and house wine. The food was okay, nothing special, not the highlight of our Italy trip, but we were satisfied. The bill showed 20-30 euro more, than we calculated, but it was a pleasant evening, so Stefano's big heart worth the difference.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, authentic Italian food!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in Venice for three days and went to three different restaurants (reviews will be posted on all of them). We stayed in Dorsoduro, a five mile walk away from this restaurant on the water. Service was great- the 2 waiters were incredibly nice and the food was great! We all ordered a variety of pasta dishes (seafood, cuttlefish, and mushroom ravioli) and they were all wonderful. Combined with the fresh breeze from the water and the Venetian relaxed atmosphere, I would definitely recommend this local restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Basilio also viewed

City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria San Basilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing