We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the happiest place in Venice”

Trattoria Da Remigio
Ranked #381 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the happiest place in Venice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Like others who have reviewed here, we were advised to give this place a go by our hotel concierge. We read the mix of reviews and thought we'd see how they fared.

We arrived early (just after midday) so we got a table straight away. As others have pointed out, if you are thinking of going later, it's probably best to book as the restaurant fills up very quickly, with mostly local Venetians.

Sadly, not much to rave about. The waiters were pretty slack and we didn't see one of them crack a smile the whole time we were there. The guys looked like they were pretty much over the whole thing.

The food was passable, but probably overpriced for what we got.

There was a distinct lack of atmosphere in the place, not helped by the waiters meandering around performing their tasks with minimal enthusiasm.

To be fair, the day we went, Venice had just experienced its worst flooding in 100 years. But, Da Remigio wasn't effected as it is located back from the water. I do't know if everyone in Venice that day was upset about the flooding, but I get the feeling this place and it's staff are just going through the motions.

We wouldn't go back again as there are too many other great options in Venice where the staff can't do enough for you and there is a buzz and excitement in the air.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    215
    77
    61
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“WHAT A SULLEN BUNCH!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We found the food in this restaurant to be average. I played a game with my husband to see if any of the staff cracked a smile - they didn't. What a sullen bunch! Not recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“reliably excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Da Remigio is an excellent restaurant frequented mainly by Venetians. My husband and I have been going there for over thirty years and have never been disappointed. The wait staff are friendly and the food is consistently excellent. My favorite dishes are the zuppa di pesce and the bistecca a la pizzaiola. The location is in the parrochia of Castello, an easy walk from San Marco through back streets. Because it is a popular place to ear, you will be wise to reserve first.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margherita305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Venetian Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We really enjoyed this meal. One of our favorites in Venice. Filled with locals and recommended by our Hotel. The service was very attentive and helpful. Pasta dishes were excellent especially the squid pasta. Also enjoyed the pasta with Venetian clams. I would recommend this over Al Covo any day. Price and food were much better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancyls27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst experience in Venice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Guide books rated this place highly, so we made an effort to go there. We were lucky to get a table but the service was very slow and the waiters rude. The food was acceptable but expensive for what it was. We didn't enjoy the experience at all. I would never go back and would not advise anyone else to go there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 777Traveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Remigio also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Da Remigio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing