We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for good food and good service”

Trattoria Da Ignazio
Ranked #363 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $136
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
philly
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great place for good food and good service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very near our Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo in San Polo. Had two great lunches. When we returned for second lunch greeted as family member. Ate in garden room which was very pretty and relaxing. Had same waiter both times. Liked him so much we took his photo and he took several pictures of us behind their bar and at our table. The BEST pasta dish I had in Venice. Reasonable prices. Wish we had this restaurant in Philly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marshallesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    123
    54
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not make the same mistake!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Last night in Venice called for a little extra for the whole family. Based on reviews here on tripadvisor we choose Trattoria Da Ignazio, and what a waste. 2 sirloin steaks, pasta with fish and a lasagne for our youngest member all failed the test. Normally you would expect the waiter to ask how the steaks should be. Normally you would expect the recommended wine to be without cork and in a bottle that was not dirty and greasy. Normally you would expect portions that would take more than 2 minutes to clear. Normally you would expect the salad to be at least fresh and perhaps consist off more then just dry leaves and tomatos that have seen better days. And normally you would not expect the kitchen staff to run to and from the local supermarket every third minute in dirty plastic approns through the restaurant. Have at least the courtesy to take the back door. Add all that with an incompetent waiter and completely tasteless food, and you will have a very bad last impression of this fantastic town. The disaster was so complete, especially when you pay the bill, that we at least had to laugh at the end. DONT make the same mistake. The alternatives are nearby and sooo much better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marguritten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Relaxing ambience”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had dinner on a Sunday night, and the restaurant seemed to be filled with locals who were greeted by name. We had very good service and yes, the oldest living waiter may be working here! Every course from appetizer to dessert was tasty, and I felt the price was right for the quality and quantity of food. I had the house white and my husband had the house red, both okay wine for the price. If you want to get away from the noise and crowds, this restaurant was quiet and restful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“decent dinner on a monday”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

had a decent dinner Monday 13/May.
liked: prosciuto antipasta and the seafood misto main course, the house white wine, 'garden' setting, service (not too busy night).
could be better: the baby octopus (too fishy taste) and the beef tenderloin (tender, but not much taste), and the house red wine.
ok: price (eur 100 for 2 people)
summary: was ok, nothing extraordinary

Helpful?
Thank Thue P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit in summertime”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hidden somewhere in San Polo, on the main passage from Piazzale Roma to Rialto, the trattoria has a wonderful garden where you are simply disconnected from the usual tourists crowd and noise.

Linen tablecloths, quality dinnerware and surprisingly good service form the oldest waiter I ever been served by or, as a matter of fact, ever seen; the food is more than good and you can almost see it cooking since the kitchen has large windows opening to the garden's back alley.

At a cca.30 Euros/person for an appetiser, main and some house wine its doesn't come cheap but, to be honest, neither expensive considering the location, the service and the food.

Nice experience, worth a try if you can locate it easily.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Ignazio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Da Ignazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing