We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristoteca Oniga

Ristoteca Oniga
Ranked #145 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic little place”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had lunch here on our last day in Venice. It's in a lovely area, off the main tourist track and very handy -if like us - you've been to The Peggy Guggenheim Museum - and are now wandering around panicking about where to eat. It's situated in a nice little square with lots of art galleries and interesting boutiques in the side streets off it. It was a Sunday and the place was jammed to the rafters - with mostly locals by the sound of it, families and couples all enjoying the very good food at (we thought) reasonable prices.Good wine list too and again not too expensive. I wouldn't necessarily cross town to eat here but if I was in the nearby I would definitely be glad to return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gd2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    385
    95
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as touristy as it seems.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were reluctant to try this one. Given the look and location, we thought it was just a tourist trap. But to our surprise, it turned out to be a very nice restaurant. Although on the pricey side, food was certainly good, with a great wine selection. Don't look for risotto, though. Ristoteca is a made-up term from combining ristorante and enoteca, and has nothing to do with risotto (not in the menu).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicente P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Venezia Gem”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you have not eaten "black pasta" then Oniga in Venezia is the place to enjoy your first plate. Venice is a city for walking and the Oniga restaurant is not far from any location in Venice. We were recommended to Oniga by friends and were not disappointed. The youngish staff is eager to please and not at all "snooty" like older wait staff in many other Italian restaurants. Reservations are definately suggested and we found arriving early (7pm) guaranteed a good table outside! I can hardly wait for a return trip to Venice to again enjoy the steamy hot black pasta at Oniga!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPL33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely friendly restaurant with a great atmosphere. Really excellent food and service. The mixed fried seafood is highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jayjan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had the mussels - and the portion was huge-
but not particularly tasty. My husband had the grilled
prawns... and he thought they were okay- not great.
Service was fine, and the house white was perfectly
respectable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank acekingqueenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristoteca Oniga also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristoteca Oniga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing