We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food, service and company!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria ai Carmini

Osteria ai Carmini
Ranked #263 of 1,378 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great food, service and company!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had booked our Saturday evening a few days earlier. We had a bottle of merlot and sparkling water. For starters John had scallops and salad which was really good, lots of scallops including the coral. I had the mussels and clams in a tomato sauce with toasted bread which was really good. Both starters were substantial portions. Then John had the tuna which has been photographed for this site by other reviewers, which was really good and nicely cooked so that it was very pink in the middle. I had the tagliolini with prawns which was also very good.

We sat at a table very near to the next table and found ourselves in good conversation with fellow visitors to Venice. So much so that I failed to finish my main course, no fault of the food! Suffice to say we had a really enjoyable evening of which the great food was central.

John had a grappa and the bill was a very reasonable 87 Euros. We then caught the vaporetta to St Mark's for music at the Florian. What a good life, eh!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skiers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    97
    36
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“How many Excelllent from new comers??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I trust in Tripadvisor and I had a dinner at Oosteria dei Carmini for its high rate, but I was not satisfied at all: poor food, nothing special and the restaurant smells so much that you'll smell for half a day!

Then I came back to read the other opinions: is it not strange for you that a lot of new comers on tripadvisor write their first opinion for Osteria dei Carmini and that it's always Excellent!?!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank greatgatsby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Frozen Sea Food - Don't Waste Your Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a complete tourist trap. The Trip Advisor rating does not reflect the reality. The menu was in English with a small font Italian saying that most of the dished could be prepared using frozen products. Guess what, every single dish we ordered tasted like it was made out of frozen sea food. The place was full of Americans and other tourists; no locals. We spent 60E and it was a complete waste of money. We went to another restaurant the next night and the difference was night and day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doll33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Venetian cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We ate here while in Venice this summer, it was a bit tricky to find as the Google Maps reference wasn't right and we ended up on a bit of track through Venice back streets to find it. Not a bad thing, though it was very hot.

Osteria ai Carmini is not you typical trattoria, the menu was a little off putting for our teenage daughters as there was alack of 'standards'. So perhaps not the best place for kids.

We had the set menu on offer. I ordered sardines not quite expecting them to come cold with onions (Ventian speciality) but they were so delicious I didn't care.

Staff were friendly though with limited English. Overall an excellent if slightly pricey meal, the culinary highlight of our 2 week there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Carmini fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Osteria ai Carmini is a headliner whenever we visit Venice, and we always wonder if it will be closed (as was once the case). When we turn the corner before the Scuola and see its bright lights on, our hearts cheer. In a three day stay this November we dined there on two evenings. We've found nowhere to top it. and this time, Matteo the talented chef and Daniel the charming maitre d', both excelled in their attention to communication, understanding our preferences and coming up with food to celebrate and remember. Even when it was dramatically acqua alta from below and raining too from above, the restaurant was welcoming and so worth the trek. Fish was magnificent - the scallops outstanding, and the fresh tagliolini with vegetables varied from eggplant to mixed peppers but was always distinctive, delicious and perfectly al dente. Shrimps were enthusiastically consumed, as was the bean soup - much more subtle than might be expected. and their freshly house-made tiramisu is an absolute worldbeater. We'd got into the pattern of a quarter of house prosecco and a half of the rosso del casa, and the combination had us floating back to the vaporetto stop sublimely uplifted by the magical ambience and charm and sheer quality of hospitality of this marvellous osteria. Too few such eating-places have survived in Venice without acquiring a cynical veneer of glittering lucre-lust and/or disdain for the non-Italian speakers. This place, however, largely patronised by locals, is a shining light that we don't want ever to find dimmed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria ai Carmini also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria ai Carmini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing