We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find first night in Venice”
Review of Il Refolo

Il Refolo
Ranked #275 of 1,432 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucky find first night in Venice”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having just flown in from the U.S., we ate relatively early on this Sunday evening...good thing or we would never have gotten a table. Quiet canal seating and wonderful starters: mussels and shrimp salad with a lemon salsa? side. Terrific. The hostesses/waitresses were happy to arrange a table for us. I had black squid and DH had a beef w/greens. A bottle of Lambrusco, water, total was about 100 Euros

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    184
    45
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claygate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had dinner in this lovely restaurant, loved the setting on the edge of the canal, essential to book, it was Friday night and all but 3 tables were free,, lots of local people.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hummingbird444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza in quiet neighbourhood”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

(last visited September 2007)
Although other dishes are offered in this minuscule restaurant, go for the pizzas as they are the best value for money. There is no indoor seating inside the restaurant, but covered seating in a 'marquee' outside. It is only seasonal opening - April-October only.

How to get here - get off Line 1 waterbus (Riva di Biasio stop nearest for the restaurant) and head for Campo S Giacomo dell'Orio. The restaurant is just off the square in Campiello Piovan.

There are bars in the square nearby, but the restaurant has a good wine list.

Venicefan

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank venicefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Venetian Ambience & Good Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nestled in a quiet picturesque "piazza" in the Santa Croce area, this canal side busy restaurant is the quintessence of Venetian dining. Attentive staff, comprehensive menu and food prepared very well add up to a wonderful romantic dining experience. Not the usual Venice tourist spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peripateticmensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
428 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Reliably good!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I try to come here every time I'm in Venice and I have yet to be disappointed. The setting is lovely, a quiet square and with a little canal to watch gondolas and other boats drifting by.
The pizzas are so good that I've never ordered anything else but there is a reasonable selection on the menu so something for everyone I imagine.
The staff are friendly and Il Refolo has a relaxed feel about it.
Our bill came to 44 euros for 2 pizzas, water, coke and a coffee.
Definitely book in the evenings but I've managed to walk in no problem at lunchtimes and they tend to continue serving pizza's quite late at lunchtime so good if you want to eat after 2pm. I've never had a bad experience here so really recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sorellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Refolo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Il Refolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing