We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best ice-cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Paolin

Gelateria Paolin
San Marco 2962 | Campo Santo Stefano, Venice, Italy (San Marco)
041 522 55 76
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 79 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Marco
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best ice-cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Gelateria Paolin at Campo S.Stefano has very nice ice creams It is the best we have ever tasted. There is a wide range of great tastes too and I suggest you try different ones! All my family loved this place! The staff are also very helful and polite. Great coffee too! I recommend it gladly!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ManCar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    89
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I 'happened' upon this restaurant whist trying to choose a spot for lunch on our first day in Venice. As with other reviews we found the staff very welcoming and the service first rate. My choice of melon with Parma ham consisted of an incredibly generous helping of both at a very reasonable price. Sitting outside overlooking the Square was the perfect start to our mini break. During our stay we then realised what a gem this restaurant was....other places we stopped at were over priced, the staff, if efficient were robotic, with no hint of a welcoming smile.
Considering the close proximity to St Mark's Square there is no way we could understand the difference in prices and service compared to that at Gelateria Paolin. Have the obligatory drink in the former but choose the latter for.a warm welcome,complimentary crisps whilst one peruses the menu, attentive staff, good food and lovely wine.The cost to you will be reasonable - but the memory priceless.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank monty1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We came across this restaurant on our first night in Venice and returned everyday during our stay for drinks. The service was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The drinks were reasonably priced for Venice and with every order came some crisps or olives a lovely treat!

The location of the restaurant is lovely and quiet with a lovely outdoor seating area - very relaxing

Would 100% recommend

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our concierge at the Bauer Hotel and it was well worth it. Reasonable pricing, outdoor seating, relazed atmosphere, good food and drinks, as well as friendly staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mirassou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just came back from a holiday in Italy and the highlight was going to Venice. Me and my wife stayed there for three days and once we discovered Gelateria Paolin at Campo S.Stefano we went there everyday. We had lunch there and it was very nice but the Ice cream is the best we have ever tasted. There is a good range too many to mention and I would recommend trying different ones. And yes, once you have the gelato try the drinks perfectly made and the coffe. Paolin is located in a fantastic place and stays open till late. The staff are very polite and we learned that the gelateria Paolin is one of the oldest in Venice. Also the staff gave us good advice on places to visit. Grazie and cant wait to go back again. Mark&L

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Paolin also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria Paolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing