We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious and resonably priced for Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gelateria Paolin

Gelateria Paolin
Ranked #27 of 85 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Marco
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“delicious and resonably priced for Europe”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We've now been to Gelateria Paolin on two consecutive days and tonight might go again - it's that good! Any of the flavors you normally like in ice-cream taste even better as a gelato here. We've tried mint, chocolate hazelnut, pistachio, strawberry, banana, lemon, and all were very tasty. 2 cups, 3 flavors each, cost us 6 euros in total (we took the gelato to go - assume it will cost slightly more to stay and eat there).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    111
    19
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This should be your first Venice Gelateria experience.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from our first trip from Italy that included Venice, Florence and Rome. Trying the gelato was not my main objective, but it was high on the list. So I did plenty of research with the help of trip advisor. Please take my word when I say the best nocciola (hazelnut) is at Gelateria Paolin in the corner of Campo Santo Stefano. And the pistacchio was not that far behind. Put this at the top of your list while in Venice. Grazie mele, Tripadvisor!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PSL25A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Venice”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A fantastic place for people watching on Campo Santo Stefano, Paolin has great drinks (do not miss the cioccolata al rum!), cake and above all, fab staff!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EHCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by for a cappuccino and ice cream - our travel book said best ice cream in Venice......and we think it was! Very good service, good spot for a sit and people watch and prices reasonable. No service charge so staff attentive and happy (unlike so other establishments in Venice!)

Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clembo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious ice cream full relax!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My trip to Venice was very short, but one evening after dinner I asked the waiter where I can eat a good Italian ice cream, he racommended Paolin Gelateria ,really is best ice cream ever had in Italy, was gianduiotto cup.
My congratulations to the team for the fast service and for preparing ice cream served with sweet smile.
Thanks, and I'll be back again in that beautiful place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orien r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Paolin also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria Paolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing