We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gelato, bad service”
Review of Gelateria Nico

Gelateria Nico
Ranked #23 of 85 Dessert in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great gelato, bad service”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The best gelato I've tried in Italy. Very good location, excellent view. But the service... First we looked for somebody who could clean tables so we could sit. Then we had to catch the waiter (which was not easy!) to take our order. Good that we could pay without change, otherwise we would sit and wait for it for ages.
But anyway I liked it. The gelato and the canal made up everything :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kateryna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    271
    95
    62
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great gelato that's a bit out of the way”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The pistachio was toasted, which adds a neat flavor that's rare in Italy. We enjoyed this out-of-the-way gelateria quite a bit, and would return for sure. It's also relatively cheap compared to most Venetian gelaterias.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fivecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Never thought I'd see the day”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

when I'd post a negative review about what was once my fave gelato place on the planet (understand, I am an ice cream addict). But its true, over the years, not only has Nicos been overtaken by a number of vastly superior gelateria in Venice, but its attitude has become one of serving local men who drop by for a rink. There is nothing wrong with maintaining a client base of course, but to do so while providing slower and slower service to foreign visitors is not a move in the positive direction. We were made to feel like the lowest form od stanieri infidel scum, when all we wanted was an ice cream. *See the new doc called 'The Venice Syndrome' and you may understand the current attitude by some local businesses (and citizens in general) towards travelers. I am done. The end.
btw: NO GRAND NAVI IN VENEZIA

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have visited nico's before on orevious visits, and it is always nice to return. Good coffee, and delicious ice creams. The view of the guidecca from the deck on the zattere is wonderful, and when the sun shines it is very special, the staff are happy to help with choosing flavour of ice cream and smile while you agonise over that choice. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahopefultraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best view while devouring a gelato . . .”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

this gelateria is situated at the southern end of dorsoduro and has an excellent view of the water.
which adds to the ambience of eating one of the better gelato places in venice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank weezaweezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Nico also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria Nico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing