We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Rudest Restaurant Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Ai Do Farai

Osteria Ai Do Farai
Ranked #250 of 1,355 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
266 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Rudest Restaurant Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It was Saturday night three minutes before their time to open. The place was empty. We came in, and ask for a menu. It was all in Italian, we asked for an English menu, and the owner became belligerent. He proceeded to tell us what we should have. He got verbally aggressive, and so we decided to leave. At the point he got even more rude. He was shouting at us as we left the restaurant. I have eaten in restaurants all over the world. I usually give even poor restaurants a fair review if they have any kind of redeeming service, but this restaurant is one I cannot give any kind of positive review to. They were rude, and socially inappropriate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank salupm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    119
    42
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bad service and inhospitable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to have a proper Italian dinner with four people and ended up at Osteria Ai Do Farai. There were only 2-3 staff in the restaurant that did not have any time for anything. One big chaos. After ordering a pasta we asked for some cheese. It never arrived. Nor did the salads that we ordered. We left without secundi. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Give this a try - you won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This restaurant was recommended so we turned up on a busy Friday night and Stefano was initially a little stand-offish, no doubt all part of his show. He allocated a table and gave us the menu, which is only in Italian. There were no other tourists which we took as a good sign. On seeing our difficulty in ordering, Stefano came over and proposed that we follow his recommendations involving antipasto then pasta, two portions of each for our party of four, followed by fish. We knew that this could be a way of trapping tourists but we had confidence in Stefano and it was not misplaced. We had the most delicious meal served with inexpensive and good house wine, all served with humour and efficiency by Stefano. We were wary of the size of the bill, with no cause. We ate in a tourist restaurant at Rialto the next night and paid 25 euros less for a meal which was so, so inferior in every aspect and which left us nostalgic for good Venetian cuisine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mallock20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best carpaccio ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Show that has been shown by Stefano when he was preparing the carpaccio di branzino is amazing.
The taste of this was incredible.
This restaurant is probably not so famous among the tourists, but most likely is very popular among the locals.

Helpful?
Thank Вадим С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Recommended by our hotel as a good local place to eat. We checked it out during the day but it was completely shuttered so weren't sure if we even had the right location. But at night, open and alive. Stefano very friendly, spoke good English, and a great showman! We asked his recommendations on the menu and wine and were very happy. Interesting to try cuttlefish in its own ink. Saw several guests having sea bass (Branzino) carpaccio, which is prepared with a great flourish at the table. Neighbouring table gave us a taste, delicious. Yes, we would recommend eating here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Ai Do Farai also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Ai Do Farai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing