We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good pizza”

Pizzeria Trattoria all'Anfora
Ranked #244 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We made the mistake of ordering one pizza for each of us and boy, we had a hard time finishing them. The pizzas here are huge with thin crusts. We ordered the pizza with mushroom and pizza with eggplant. Both taste pretty good. We only manage to finish half of one of the pizzas and we had to take away the leftovers. We ate it in the train the next day and although cold and a bit mushy, but it still taste good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChizuruOkada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    292
    80
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Here”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had great pizzas at this restaurant near our hotel in the Santa Croce district. It was recommended to us by a local who claimed it was the best pizza in Venice, a city not known for its food or pizzas. Our pizzas were absolutely delicious -- thin and tasty with slightly burnt edges. The house red wine was also very good as was the friendly service. We ate outside in the back surrounded by just the right kind of run-down buildings you expect to see in Italy. There were no tourists when we ate here. Just locals. This ranks as one of the best restaurant experiences we had in our 2 week trip to Italy. It was wonderful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmitgoteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing Burnt Pizza”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pizzeria Trattoria all'Anfora
Pizzas are very large - one pizza would serve two people. Tedesca pizza - sausage and potato - very thin crust, good flavor but a little burnt. Pizza with mixed vegetables - peppers, asparagus (very salty), spinach (looked like canned), eggplant, mushrooms, maybe zucchini , Crust very burnt to the point it was Inedible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Size doesn't matter!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Use your instinct we only went here due to reviews on trip advisor, we passed 2 perfectly good restaurants on the way. For a place that ONLY does pizza, yes they are big and fall of the plate, is that a good thing? Get bigger plates! If your only going to do thin pizza they meed to be perfect. cook it longer as it was soft and turned to mush. Not thin and crispy at all! Ingredients were average, tinned mushroom, average sauce, house presecco wasnt bad thou.

The worst bit was my wife ordered a salad, (as this was the only alternative really on the menu apart from pizza) she ordered one with eggs, they arrived with black lines around the yoak and smelled well passéd their best!
Service average, location, average... Not worth a visit if you are into your food really.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First pizza on our trip!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Not only was this cute little place just something we stumbled on but it was also the best pizza we had on our entire trip in Italy!!
The server was super nice and helpful, our champagne was bubbly and delicious. The pizza we had was spicy salami and other veggies, I forget the name but get anything with that salami, it was to die for! I would go back to this place if we are ever in the area again [fingers crossed]

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikol z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Trattoria all'Anfora also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Pizzeria Trattoria all'Anfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing