We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we spent ages looking for this place, but it was so worth it!”

Bar Pasticceria Ballarin
Ranked #9 of 23 Bakeries in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“we spent ages looking for this place, but it was so worth it!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Superb coffee, drink it standing at the bar or at small high marble table. And do enjoy the delicious pastries; the canoli are truly wonderful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tanandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    63
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Despite being on the total tourist path, the cakes tasted fantastic and were very reasonably priced! Even though they didn't have teas we like (Earl Gray or anything herbal) at the moment we were there, we were happy to take the cakes away

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite Bar Pasticceria in Venezia”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came to arrange our daily travels through the streets of Venice so that we could visit Bar Ballarin as often as possible. This is where I learned to love caffe' (espresso), a pursuit that I have carried home with me. The choice of bakery items and candy is vast and always good. Try anything. At lunch times they offered us little mini pizzas and with a little aqua, caffe', dolce it made a lovely and affordable snack on our way. When we return to Venice this is one of the first places we will visit for sure. There is no real seating as I remember, its just a place for quick (and frequent) pit-stops. Popular with tourists and locals alike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Coffee is exceptionally good and the pastries are all divine
I have not had time to try it even though I went every day throughout my stay

Helpful?
1 Thank Ines B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not really a restaurant, but well worth a visit...”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is basically a bakery, veering towards the sweeter end of what that entails....
There is a bit of space to stand and eat your delicious pastries with a fresh coffee, but that's about it.
Having said that, we had some items from their selection, and they were quite magnificent...
For a guilty treat (as if there weren't enough in Venice) try out their produce.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pearscr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Pasticceria Ballarin also viewed

 

Been to Bar Pasticceria Ballarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing