We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back again!”
Review of Antiche Carampane

Antiche Carampane
Ranked #257 of 1,705 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food, atmosphere and service were so good at this simple local trattoria that we finished our visit to Venice with dinner here for a second time. The seafood and pasta are fresh and delicious. Be sure to have the dessert of the day!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 451craigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We’d booked this place a month before arriving in the hope it would deliver some Venetian culinary magic. I was worried we’d spend our Venetian holiday paying over the odds for sh*t food due to the sheer number of tourists.
This place was such a great idea and simply scrumptious. Well worth getting lost down little alleyways for!
The staff were friendly and efficient. We sat outside, nestled down a softly peach-stoned pedestrian street, well away from the hordes of tourists and overpriced food. They have air con inside if you’d rather and big umbrellas shading the outside tables. It’s quiet and nice to explore a different area of the city.
Our starter of buratta and baby octopus was my favourite ever. Lashings of olive oil and the creamiest smoothest burrata ever. Perfect. Followed by piles of garlicky spaghetti alle vongole and fresh fish with griddled veggies. All dishes were perfected executed. The menu isn’t huge but that’s an advantage and you can see the produce is seasonal and prepared with care. Very reasonably priced and a decent wine selection. The carafes of wine are a showcase for fabulous Venetian glass blowing, same as the quirky glass espresso cups and saucers. Overall, well worth a visit. Book in advance!

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank muffinOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

We dined here on one of 3 nights in Venice and will look forward to returning on another visit. Service was expert and spirited. Room small and intimate. Food very fresh and so delicious.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank oboela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

Wow wow wow, a beast to find but well worth it. Pre-booking far in advance is a must. The best of some very good restaurants we ate in, very special indeed and the most expensive. Wonderful octopus, frito misto, calves cheeks etc

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank PaulW1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

Came searching for this place during our stay and wandered around thinking our maps were “slightly off” only to find out the place is closed until August 20th.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank joeseppi-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antiche Carampane also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antiche Carampane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing