We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous experience at Antiche Carampane”
Review of Antiche Carampane

Antiche Carampane
Ranked #77 of 1,434 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another fabulous experience at Antiche Carampane”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I first visited Antiche Carampane in 2008 and have been lucky enough to return again - once in 2010 and recently in October 2013, and we were not disappointed.

This restaurant is unpretentious, provides excellent service, the staff are very knowledgeable and the food is sensational. But a warning - Antiche Carampane is very popular and advance bookings seem to be essential.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzybarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    298
    90
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'm kind of glad it's so difficult to find...”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Prior to the smartphone revolution, this restaurant was nearly impossible to find without a local to guide you. Before we ate here for the first time, we told a gentleman working at our hotel that we were planning on going. He looked shocked. Apparently, few tourists had yet to eat at this local favorite. He was so impressed by our knowledge that he called and made a reservation for us, securing a lovely table for our large group of friends.

After weaving and winding our way through the narrow and enchanting streets of Venice, we found the place where we would have one of the best seafood meals of our lives.

The service is incredibly attentive and delightful. The seafood couldn't be any more fresh. Every preparation was delicious and many of the dishes a surprise. They use the most simple steps to bring out the best flavor of each type of fish and mollusk.

I can't wait to go back for a third and fourth time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“my favourite fish restaurant in italy”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

you will love this restaurant in venice.
you can sit outside if you like,most important is the food,you cant get better seafood in italy be sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorenzodicrofti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Although this restaurant is a little off the beaten track it is one of the best we have ever dined at. The service was excellent. The food was gourmet. The ambience was just a treat. For a romantic meal to a large group repast we could only highly recommend this basically fish restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. alban d'hurtieres
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was probably the best meal I have ever eaten! Wonderful tastes and textures. Fabulous ambiance and attentive staff.The little cone of shrimp was exquisite,the mixed plate of seafood an adventure. The white wine in the carafe creamy and excellent with the fish.I can't believe that people had a bad experience here. It was so good we ate here two days in a row.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antiche Carampane also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antiche Carampane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing