We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amanzing dinner”
Review of Riviera

Riviera
Ranked #12 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $71 - $188
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: NOT FOR FAST FOODERS!! Omnivorous Restaurant Please CHECK our on line Menu BEFORE to book a table!! Booking highly suggested. WE HAVE NOT VEGAN OPTIONS!! A credit card deposit can be requested to confirm a booking. WEDNESDAY and THURSDAY are our days off! Next August we'll be closed from 9th to 17th included
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amanzing dinner”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

In fact it is a restaurant away from the touristic places but at the same time near, but worth the walk.Me and my wife booked for a table outside when and despite everybody was eating inside,the waiter places us where we wanted.We started with scalops and carpaccio and continued with two inovative pastas that made our visit to this restaurant an experience we won't forget. The desert was a mixture of what the restaurant has to offer and i can only finish by strongly recomend this place to everybody that comes to Venice and enjoy good and local food.

Helpful?
1 Thank bscarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,556
    334
    85
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Completely Delicious”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I got treated to a wonderful birthday meal here and everything about the meal was special - Food and wine amazing, lovely view of Giudecca and immaculate service.
Thank you Riviera!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleW253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food long wait”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went on a Wednesday at 7pm we had booked by email. Food was lovely, as was the staff but portions were small, thank god for 3 bread baskets, and main course arrived around 55 minutes after starter plates had been taken. Had to ask in the end as we were starving.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethmcLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCremonini, Proprietario at Riviera, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Madame

I spent more than one hour searching between the orders of Wednesday evening trying to understand which one was your table (I can see the time of the order and the time of presentation of the dish at the table).

I was not able to found, anyway if you only had the sensation to wait so long actually I can only say that I'm really sorry.

But to be sorry serves no purpose, and for that reason we always ask to ours Guests if they had a nice evening and if everything was ok, because we are human beings and sometimes can happen to be mistaken, and we are ready to recognize it and, if it's possible, to repair it.

Nobody Wednesday had a complain, so it was impossible to fix whatever: anyway, if you permit, I invite you to came back to visit us for a dinner for which you'll be completely my Guests.

GP Cremonini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This one is ' WoW'!!!!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We didn't make a reservation ahead. But we were so lucky that night. We went there around seven, have been told that they are fully booked. Suddenly, manager came out and told us just now one table had been cancelled ! LoL

Service was brilliant!
Friendly and careful

Breads were tasty, bread sticks were highlight

Starter, we both ordered something like sashimi, Venice style. it was sooooo good!!!!! Several raw fish, topped with different fruit, cheese, and spices. Salmon with mozzarella was my fav. Swordfish was sooooo naturely sweet and chewy, love it. Sea bass with strawberry, spark.

For First, we had cuttlefish spaghetti, seppi? Anyway, creative, and lovely tasty. Worthy

Secondi, was turbot fish, baked with potato , tomatoes and olives. Springkle with olive oil. Omg!!!!!!! Potato slices were so delicious! Marvellous!!!!!!! Eventhough, lots of oil in this dish, not grassy at all. Addicted addicted!

Lots of ppl there ordered sea salt baked fish, looks fun.

Dessert, we shared carrot and ginger sorbet. Yumyum, the flavour of ginger was so fit. Three Table spoon sized sorbet scoop set on chocolate cake bed. Really lovely design.

everything was perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patatamio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Perfect setting, friendly staff, great food”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked this from the UK for our wedding anniversary. Not disappointed at all. From the beginning service was exemplary, friendly, professional and very Italian! Had the specials for starter and main course, baked fish was ace. Great wine list to suit all budgets. Book in advance to get a front table, it's worth it. Great night, thanks so much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera also viewed

 

Been to Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing