We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good local Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Palanca

La Palanca
Ranked #28 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Giudecca
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A good local Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great views across the canel towards St Marco. Very close to the riverbus station "Palanca". Stopped for a coffee initially and just noticed the locals streaming in so came back for lunch. I had the pasta with tomatoe and pancetta sauce , my wife had the pasta with monk fish and artichoke. The pasta was cooked perfectly. We ate outside , inside looked good to lots of books to pick up and read (english) and a nice atmosphere . Very friendly staff. Will definitely add this to our list of places to return to on our next visit. Pasta, drinks and coffe for 2 was €29.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    205
    24
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant ........so rare in Venice! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Small snack & restaurant on Guidecca island. Simple but very nice. Nice food & wines at a very reasonable price. Full of local venetians which is the only valuable sign of quality in Venice.
A special word for the "mustache" server & cook....the owner?? who is really nice, smiley and speaks french!

Helpful?
Thank brando74718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok but not wow!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Visited here on saturday afternoon it was very busy and looked great, i had fish pasta and my partner had chicken bites- both were nice but not wow. good atmosphere and nice staff but probably wouldnt visit again

Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
153 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A great find on the quiet island of Guidecca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went there on January 1st as we were staying at a hotel next door. What a great find! The food and service was amazing. I had a very tasty and fresh platter of cold mixed seafood appetizers which was enough for an entire meal ( 25 euros all the same but worth it) The sardines Venetian style were succulent and the octopus carpaccio too. My husband had seafood pasta which was equally very tasteful. The tiramisu was heavenly and the wine too. I highly recommend this restaurant and will go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnBee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great views, and enthusiastic staff. Worth the trip to Guidecca.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have been here twice and have been very impressed. It's a neighbourhood restaurant, not a fancy place. We both had pasta dishes that we enjoyed very much. In the summer we had a table right on the canal with truly lovely views of Zattere and San Marco, surely the best view in Venice. In the winter we ate inside and it had a nice atmosphere with lots of locals. The staff were welcoming on both occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boxbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palanca also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Palanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing