We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Beautiful Room Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Ranked #59 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Service Beautiful Room Quiet Location”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Sant' Elena in April 2013 and after having left my backpack on a ACTV bus, the staff, Frederico and Daniele were very helpful. They called the lost and found numerous times for me because I don't speak Italian. Throughout our entire stay, the staff was very courteous, friendly, and attentive. We stayed on the top floor and view of the water was nice. The room was large and very clean. The bathroom was spotless and big compared to other Venice hotels. The hotel is on the quiet side of Venice and only 8-10 minute walk to St Marks square. The vaporetto (aka public water bus) is very close to the hotel. We emailed the hotel and they gave us very simple directions from the airport. (Buy ACTV ticket at airport, take bus 5 to Venice, take public waterbus Line 1 (towards LIDO) with the local company ACTV (www.actv.it) and get off at Sant'Elena stop). The breakfast buffet had many delicious options and the coffee was good. It's a lovely hotel. Anyways, the hotel was great and so was the service. Next time I go to Venice, I will stay @ Hotel Sant Elena. VB

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VBTravelerMiami_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    550
    94
    25
    8
See reviews for
304
840
36
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our first visit to Venice and we selected this hotel for it's TripAdvisor ratings as being quiet. We were not disappointed. It's a relatively small property less than 80 rooms - a converted convent done with class and preserving the cloistered centre courtyard which is now lawn and gardens. Nice, modern, well appointed rooms. Comfortable bed. We asked for a room backing onto the garden on the ground floor (more good advice from Trip Advisor). We asked for room 106 and got that room. Very quiet hotel. Connecting to the WiFi a bit challenging, but finally figured it out and the signal was strong. Buffet breakfast was very good with a good selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, continental-type pastries plus scrambled eggs and great bacon. Desk staff were very good - friendly with fully adequate English and went the extra mile to be helpful. The hotel is well located, very close to the shoreline and the excellent public water transportation - the ACTV - which is the best and least costly way to get around in Venice. The hotel entrance is a bit obscure, around the back of the building. When you arrive on the ACTV, take the right fork in the path and head between the buildings. We originally booked four nights, but decided to extend our stay by one extra night and the staff were helpful in finding another great room, even though they were virtually full (a late cancellation?). If arriving via Marco Polo Airport, buy your ACTV tickets at the airport information desk for your entire stay. It's much cheaper that way and the tickets will get you a bus ride for the fairly long trip from the Airport to the island (# 5 bus) and you can take the water transportation from the bus terminal right to the hotel. Several water bus routes go from the bus terminal to the hotel, but we found the #6 to be the fastest - the # 1 takes the Grand Canal route and stops at every stop. S. Elena is the 16th stop and it takes about an hour. There are other routes, including # 6 which go around the outside of the island, faster and with fewer stops. Ask the airport information people which is the fastest available route, because we think that the #6 only runs on weekdays. The Grand Canal is very worth travelling (a must see), but not with your suitcases when you are dog-tired after a day of travelling. With the daily pass, you can explore at your leisure after settling in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room backing onto the gardens, on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Judy-pooh265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We chose the BW San Elena for our first ever stay in Venice, which unbeknown to my girlfriend at the time of booking was for our engagement!

We decided to pay a little more for this four star hotel, due to the number of properties in Venixe with shared bathrooms when you are right in the center.

We couldn't have been happier with our choice! The hotel itself is smart and modern in its internal design, being a refurbished early 20th century building. Our room was well sized, clean and in a very good state of repair. The only thing missing was a minibar; no big deal with the hotel bar only a short trip away in the elevator, or via the rather lovely spiral staircases! The ensuite was also well appointed and extrmely clean (must be pretty new). Decoration is much more modern than that of most venice hotels.

We took breakfast at the hotel each morning which was a standard european/continental breakfast affair; but no worse off for it. A reasonable selection of different items was available and we enjoyed it. Cappucinno/Expresso etc is available on request.

Transport wise the hotel is a 1 minute walk from the well served San Elena vaparetto stop, on linea 1,4.1&5.1. The 4.1 and 5.1 avoid the grand canal and therefore are recommended for their speed if you are trying to get to somewhere else. We used the bus and then vaparetto to get to the hotel, arriving at 9pm, which was no issue. There is not a direct connection for Alilaguna, instead you have to change at Lido. Don't get lost at night like we did and pay attention to the tripadvisor map - we walked down the wrong side of the hotel and missed it entirely in the dark... To avoid, leave the vaparetto stop, take the right "fork" almost immediately an then follow it straight.

Overall we were happy with our stay and would visit again!

Helpful?
4 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Premier Hotel Sant'Elena is in a quiet residential area of Venice amidst gardens and green space which is quite unusual for bustling, crowded Venice. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is quite good, but there are other very good restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were clean and very pleasant.

Room Tip: rooms facing the courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nordatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This location is just enough out of the main stream of city, and in a quiet park setting very much reminding you of the convent it once was. About a 30 minute walk to the Venice proper, and the almost unreal looking structures that Venice is so enchantingly known for. Great breakfast selection. The room we had viewed out over the solarium and courtyard, and also over a small canal. Very well appointed room and nice bathroom facility. Wonderful to wake to the sound of the bell tower, and think about the nuns being called to prayer! Easy access to the vaporetto.
Would highly recommend and we would definitely return! Spent 2 nights April 9 and 10 2013.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the view out to the water. over the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A delightful hotel, with friendly staff in the quiet eastern part of Venice. I would definitely come back, and use this as a base to vacation in Venice. A short walk to San Marco, or you can hop on the vaporetto.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StobKent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights in this hotel. Distance from centre wasn't a problem as it was a nice walk or short ride by water bus. Didn't like our outside room on ground floor. It didn't feel like we were actually in the hotel! No upgrade available as we were advised the hotel was full. Plenty of choice for breakfast but hot coffee and tea would be prefered by most I'm sure.
Nice wee bar/restaurant just along from hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure not in outside rooms on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescoLaPietra, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mrs Scottie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the accommodations you received at our hotel. I am deeply concerned that our room condition did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincere apology.

I can assure you that our outside rooms on ground floor are very appreciated by our guests especially during sunny days because they are located next to our garden. As you told us in your comment, we could not change your rooms because our hotel was totally booked during your period of stay.

Mrs. Scottie, we are honoured that you chose our hotel, and we will continue to do our best to be worthy of your selection. We look forward to a future opportunity to better serve your lodging needs.

Yours sincerely

Francesco La Pietra
Qualità e Controllo di Gestione
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Sant'Elena - Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#153 of 386 in Venice
2,085 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 386 in Venice
2,308 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#34 of 386 in Venice
1,555 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 386 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Address: Calle Buccari 10 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#41 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
#73 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing