We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but a little far from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Ranked #51 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We loved the hotel. It is modern, clean and staffs are helpful and friendly. The room is very spacious and has everything (the only hotel that has in-room coffee in my entire Italy trip) you can ask for. Our only problem was the distance from city center (30 mins walking) and airport (hour and half by waterbus). We went on the day when the waterbus was on strike, so we had no choice but to walk and take expensive water taxis.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank JellieBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

I chose this hotel because of favorable reviews by others on Tripadvisor.com. I was glad I did. Location wise, this hotel is located in a Venetian neighborhood so, it's quiet and peaceful. There aren't any tourist crowds walking around and, there is a nice small park nearby with benches where you can sit and read if you wish or watch some of the kids brush up on their football skills (soccer to us folks from the U.S.). At the same time, it's easy to get to the prime sightseeing sites from the hotel. Take the waterbus and you can be at the Piazza San Marco in 10 minutes tops. I wouldn't advise walking to the piazza as you might need a map (though the hotel will be glad to provide you a free one if you need it). Also, I've heard it can take 30 minutes or more to walk from the hotel to the piazza. The waterbus is a lot easier and, it isn't that expensive in my opinion.

Concerning the hotel itself, my room was very modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. The free WiFi worked great. Hotel staff were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was very good. I did find the hotel a little difficult to find. I thought since it is within walking distance of the waterbus stop, it would be easy to find. It wasn't. The hotel does try to help in that way having a sign pointing the way to the hotel unfortunately, they put the sign before the sidewalk forks and, unless you have directions, you're left wondering which way to go. Tip: go right, follow the sidewalk till it ends, look for the street sign Calle Buccari on the building ahead of you (to the left of this building, you should see some chairs for a possible small neighborhood restaurant), follow that street/alleyway and you'll eventually see the entrance to the hotel on your right.

Getting to the hotel from the airport. You have 2 options. You can take a water taxi which is very expensive as I understand it or you can save some money but deal with a little bit of hassle. There is a shuttle service called Alilaguna which runs from the airport pier to the Lido island (where the casino is), you get off there and take the waterbus across the canal to the Sant Elena stop.

For those who are going to do a cruise out of Venice (like I did), the Alilaguna (blue line I think) shuttle will eventually take you all the way to the cruise ship terminal stop during the cruising season which ends in late November (I was on the last Royal Caribbean cruise out of Venice for the 2012 season). The waterbus as far as I know doesn't. If you want to use the waterbus, you have to take it to P le Roma, then use a tram which cost 1 or 2 Euros. I forget the exact amount. From the tram station, you would walk over to the cruise ship terminal. Venice has a very good cruise ship terminal.

Weather wise, I went in November and, it was chilly and wet. If you go then take a raincoat and wear a sweater underneath.

Another tip: if you think you're going to ride the waterbus a LOT, you can purchase tickets for various time periods which will allow you to ride the waterbus as much as you want for that time period. I think you can do the same for the Alilaguna shuttle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LOTRfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a great place to stay. They had everything and the rooms were beautiful, spacious, clean and comfortable. The employees were very helpful and friendly. The price was very reasonable. It was not in the main area and we had to walk a little bit to get to the tourist area but it wasn't that far and it was a nice walk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DToran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

On a two week trip through Italy we spent two nights at the Sant Elena and found it to be a very good experience. The hotel was clean - spotlessly so. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was typical Italian but very good. The location was okay, not in the city center where all the action is - but only a couple hundred yards through a park from a vaporetto stop. The rooms were large, good beds, and BEST OF ALL THE ONLY HOTEL ON OUR STAY WITH IN ROOM COFFEE!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Best Western Premier Hotel Sant' Elena is a very nice hotel with excellent service and commodities. If you both prefer short way to the Venice attractions and quiet and peaceful surroundings, this hotel is perfect. You may walk 25 minutes to the Piazza San Marco, or take the water ferry few minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: I can recommend a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairandhonest64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for four nights at the end of February. Lovely hotel with gorgeous rooms and staff who cannot do enough for you. The room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard.
The breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts that I have had. All the usual cooked breakfast items with cold items too.
There is a lovely pizza restaurant and bar about 2 minutes from the hotel that seems to be where the locals go. It is very very cheap for Venice prices too!
Very good value for money as we went off season and got a significantly cheaper price as a result.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel itself is quite clean and and modern.
My partner and I stayed here for three nights and found our stay to be quite relaxing, with a nice range for breakfast.
Its about 20 minutes walk to get to the heart of venice, the walk during the day is beautiful with with wonderful views and parks.
The only downside would be walking back at night, as the area around the hotel is not well illuminated and seem too quite when leaving the busy st marco square.
However if you are catching a water taxi back to the hotel this wouldn't really be a problem as the stop is only a two/three minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,149 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#57 of 385 in Venice
2,231 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#61 of 385 in Venice
918 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,882 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#91 of 385 in Venice
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Address: Calle Buccari 10 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
#72 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $110 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic boutique hotel owes its secluded ambiance to the former convent in which it is housed and of which it still retains much of the original structure: the high walls and the imposing façade conceal unexpected gems such as the impressive spiral staircase and the amazing garden furnished with comfortable chaise-lounges. Venice, with its historic center and beautiful architecture, can be reached with a pleasant stroll along Riva degli Schiavoni, or in just a few minutes by waterbus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing