We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding Hotel Away From The Maddening Crowd” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Ranked #59 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jessup, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel Away From The Maddening Crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I chose this hotel because of favorable reviews by others on Tripadvisor.com. I was glad I did. Location wise, this hotel is located in a Venetian neighborhood so, it's quiet and peaceful. There aren't any tourist crowds walking around and, there is a nice small park nearby with benches where you can sit and read if you wish or watch some of the kids brush up on their football skills (soccer to us folks from the U.S.). At the same time, it's easy to get to the prime sightseeing sites from the hotel. Take the waterbus and you can be at the Piazza San Marco in 10 minutes tops. I wouldn't advise walking to the piazza as you might need a map (though the hotel will be glad to provide you a free one if you need it). Also, I've heard it can take 30 minutes or more to walk from the hotel to the piazza. The waterbus is a lot easier and, it isn't that expensive in my opinion.

Concerning the hotel itself, my room was very modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. The free WiFi worked great. Hotel staff were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was very good. I did find the hotel a little difficult to find. I thought since it is within walking distance of the waterbus stop, it would be easy to find. It wasn't. The hotel does try to help in that way having a sign pointing the way to the hotel unfortunately, they put the sign before the sidewalk forks and, unless you have directions, you're left wondering which way to go. Tip: go right, follow the sidewalk till it ends, look for the street sign Calle Buccari on the building ahead of you (to the left of this building, you should see some chairs for a possible small neighborhood restaurant), follow that street/alleyway and you'll eventually see the entrance to the hotel on your right.

Getting to the hotel from the airport. You have 2 options. You can take a water taxi which is very expensive as I understand it or you can save some money but deal with a little bit of hassle. There is a shuttle service called Alilaguna which runs from the airport pier to the Lido island (where the casino is), you get off there and take the waterbus across the canal to the Sant Elena stop.

For those who are going to do a cruise out of Venice (like I did), the Alilaguna (blue line I think) shuttle will eventually take you all the way to the cruise ship terminal stop during the cruising season which ends in late November (I was on the last Royal Caribbean cruise out of Venice for the 2012 season). The waterbus as far as I know doesn't. If you want to use the waterbus, you have to take it to P le Roma, then use a tram which cost 1 or 2 Euros. I forget the exact amount. From the tram station, you would walk over to the cruise ship terminal. Venice has a very good cruise ship terminal.

Weather wise, I went in November and, it was chilly and wet. If you go then take a raincoat and wear a sweater underneath.

Another tip: if you think you're going to ride the waterbus a LOT, you can purchase tickets for various time periods which will allow you to ride the waterbus as much as you want for that time period. I think you can do the same for the Alilaguna shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LOTRfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    513
    91
    23
    7
See reviews for
281
776
32
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a great place to stay. They had everything and the rooms were beautiful, spacious, clean and comfortable. The employees were very helpful and friendly. The price was very reasonable. It was not in the main area and we had to walk a little bit to get to the tourist area but it wasn't that far and it was a nice walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DToran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paonia, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

On a two week trip through Italy we spent two nights at the Sant Elena and found it to be a very good experience. The hotel was clean - spotlessly so. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was typical Italian but very good. The location was okay, not in the city center where all the action is - but only a couple hundred yards through a park from a vaporetto stop. The rooms were large, good beds, and BEST OF ALL THE ONLY HOTEL ON OUR STAY WITH IN ROOM COFFEE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Best Western Premier Hotel Sant' Elena is a very nice hotel with excellent service and commodities. If you both prefer short way to the Venice attractions and quiet and peaceful surroundings, this hotel is perfect. You may walk 25 minutes to the Piazza San Marco, or take the water ferry few minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: I can recommend a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairandhonest64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for four nights at the end of February. Lovely hotel with gorgeous rooms and staff who cannot do enough for you. The room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard.
The breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts that I have had. All the usual cooked breakfast items with cold items too.
There is a lovely pizza restaurant and bar about 2 minutes from the hotel that seems to be where the locals go. It is very very cheap for Venice prices too!
Very good value for money as we went off season and got a significantly cheaper price as a result.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel itself is quite clean and and modern.
My partner and I stayed here for three nights and found our stay to be quite relaxing, with a nice range for breakfast.
Its about 20 minutes walk to get to the heart of venice, the walk during the day is beautiful with with wonderful views and parks.
The only downside would be walking back at night, as the area around the hotel is not well illuminated and seem too quite when leaving the busy st marco square.
However if you are catching a water taxi back to the hotel this wouldn't really be a problem as the stop is only a two/three minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Sant Elena was part of a BA package and this previous convent was certainly 'converted' into a rather pleasant hotel, however, although probably much quieter than those in central Venice it is rather out on a limb. There are varying times given to the centre with the hotel literature mentioning a 'stone's throw' and others a 15 minute walk - I think that would need to be a pretty big catapult and some extremely serious power walking! We didn't get to do the walk (the weather was atrocious) but would estimate at least 40 - 50 minutes at a fairly brisk pace and the 5 minute vaporetto ride somewhat nearer 10 - 15 minutes - so much for actual location.

The room was very nice, judging from the notice in the room we were in a Junior Suite with a very comfortable large bed, perfectly adequate bed covers and some seriously comfortable (polyester!) pillows. The room had everything required, with leather sofa, coffee table, controlable air-con TV and free Wi-fi. The only surprising let down was that whoever serviced the room seemed to forget to top up the tea/coffee/sugar for the two days we were there necessitating a trip to Reception to collect. UK tea drinkers beware, you will need to ask for milk jiggers as none provided in the room.

Reception staff were all very helpful as were the waiters in the Valentine's Restaurant. Because the weather was so poor for the time we were in Venice this time we opted to 'eat in' for two of our three nights. We were told that it got very busy and we were advised to book but on the two nights we ate there were no more than ten people and that included the two of us - maybe the rain kept people away! The food, seriously good but like many other Venice 'eateries' not cheap - we calculated that our two nights in cost us with a very reasonably priced bottle of wine and not three courses close on £75.00 each night - that said our third meal at a not overly 'posh' restaurant in Venice away from the touristy bits was close on £65.00 and that was with just a half litre carafe of house wine.

One other point the hotel brochure says that the rooms 'look out over unusual and evocative views' - sadly there appears to be rather high degree of poetic licence here, our's looked out on a rather scruffy building next door and even craning one's neck, there was only a rather run down looking basketball (?) court and a sliver of canal and our room had 3 windows! We couldn't quite work out where the unusual and evocative views could be from any of the hotel windows as it just wasn't in that sort of location.

Would we stay there again - yes, certainly from the quiet location and comfort point of view but in terms of easy access to central Venice not quite so sure.

Room Tip: Pretty quiet, mostly residential area so probably most rooms are fairly quiet - certainly no traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelalPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Olimpia Hotel
Olimpia Hotel
#36 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#114 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#56 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Address: Calle Buccari,10 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#42 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
#73 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing