We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Special Place of Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena
Ranked #63 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Special Place of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our 4th trip to Venice and 3rd stay at Sant Elena. The staff are very polite and helpful as always. Room overlooked the garden as per our previous stays and was clean, tidy and comfortable.
The breakfast is outstanding and sets you up for the day.
We will always stay here as it is so peaceful and a very comfortable stay.
Well done to Sant Elena and all the staff you passed with honours again and we will be back.

Room Tip: Always ask for a garden view and be woken by the Italian national anthem at the military base behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    493
    90
    23
    7
See reviews for
270
751
31
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband booked a surprise holiday to Venice after he proposed to me. Yes, I'm a very lucky lady. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and stayed in the penthouse. It is a gorgeous hotel (you must look at my photos) and the service is just fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We've visited this hotel during carnevale in Venice.
Not in the center of town but very easy to reach by vaporeto (3-4 stops to San Marco) in 10-15 minutes and about 40 minutes walk.
Very quiet enviroment close by the very busy center.
The people and staff were very friendly and the rooms are quiet spacious and very clean.
The hotel has a very good restaurant if you want to stay there in the evening and breakfast very good.
All considered a very good price/quality hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed here twice now and would recommend it. It is clean, modern, and comfortable. Having breakfast included with a fresh cappuccino makes a great start to the morning. Our room was very clean with a wonderful view of the courtyard. It is a short walking distance to catch a vaporetto. This location offers the quieter side of Venice, which is a nice treat during the carnivale season.
I will return for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was not my first stay in Venice at all - far from it. But it was my first stay in that hotel.

Arrived there and checked in in the early pm. It went smoothly and the member of staff in charge at that time was very friendly and helpful indeed. I had access to my room directly.

My single room on the first floor of the hotel was very nice indeed. It could have been a bit larger but is very good value for money. The (separate) bathroom is OK and you get lots of luxury beauty products on a daily basis. The pieces of furniture are very modern and quite posh. There is a minibar, which can be very convenient. There is also a safe, which I didn't use but which is worth mentioning. The TV was OK and I could even follow the news from home in French via TV5.

The place id very peaceful indeed. Going to Piazza San Marco on foot took me between 15 and 20 minutes, which is not that much. I decided to walk the distance every day (my stay was seven days) since there is a lot to see just walking on the streets. But with the local vaporetto, I think San Marco Square is just four stops away. The localion is undoubtedly an asset - very close to the city centre without the noise day and night.

Breakfast was included and it was very large indeed - American breakfast, English breakfast or Italian breakfast are possible. Very good value for money. Lots of typical Italian cakes for example, which all tasted wonderfully. Breakfast can be taken from 7 to 11. The breakfast room is pretty large - and a bit impersonal.

You get the international press (Herald Tribune) for free daily, which is always nice. I didn' t have my computer with me so I couldn't test the WIFI. But I could use a computer in the lobby for as long as I liked 24 hours a day.

The atmosphere there must be very nice in the Summer too - just a few minutes walk to the Biennale. My stay took place during the Carnival week and I am glad I didn't stay in the centre but a little bit in the outskirts of tha great City. I would recommand the place and would probably go there on a future trip to Venice...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed already 9 times in the Sant Elena hotel and we highly recommend it. It really starts to feel as our second home, as we don't even have to mention our names anymore at the check in ;-). The staff is very helpful (also at your first stay) and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast has a lot of variety (fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cheese, lots of cakes, ...). There now also seems to be - free - wifi in the rooms (although I'm not sure if that's in all the rooms or if we were lucky that we were close to the router). We usually have dinner in the city center or in one of the 2 restaurants closeby (mainly locals, no tourists), but have now finally tried the hotel restaurant and we liked it a lot. The pasta was excellent and the main dishes were also very good. We'll certainly eat there again in the future.

The hotel is in a quiet area of Venice, so you are away of all the crowds of tourists. We always walk everywhere in Venice and almost never take a vaporetto, so the walk to the hotel from the center doesn't bother us (it's approx 20-30 minutes next to canal grande). However, if you're tired or don't like to walk too much, you can easily take the vaporetto. It is only a few stops from the hotel to San Marco. If you plan to go to the Bienale, than the hotel is perfectly located as it is next to Giardini.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, GB
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Once again - Five Stars for this Four Star Hotel.

Our SEVENTH year at the Hotel Sant’Elena was just as enjoyable as our previous six consecutive years there. Once again, we upgraded to a Junior Suite at very reasonable cost and enjoyed our 7-night stay even more. Exceptionally good value and service as always.

We enjoyed all of the same things we enjoyed during our previous 6 trips - the food is fine and plentiful, the rooms very comfortable and beautifully air conditioned, the beds and bed linen are superb, the cleanliness is impeccable, and, being in the only green area of the island, it's fresh, clean and very peaceful. A former convent, the hotel has a large enclosed lawned garden which is ideal for peaceful relaxation, sunbathing and breakfast.

The hotel is literally only 200 metres from the vaporetto (waterbus) stop on the edge of the Venice lagoon – absolutely ideal when arriving and departing. You’ll see plenty of distressed travellers during your visit trying to cope with lugging their heavy baggage around for an hour or two on foot at the start and end of their holiday in the heat of the mid-day sun....

The vaporetto runs every ten minutes, and will take you to St. Mark's Square in just 10 minutes (*don't forget to buy your multi-day pass for the vaporetto at the airport on arrival - unlimited walk on / walk off trips. A great way to end the day is to go to the vaporetto terminal and enjoy a 40-minute vaporetto trip the whole length of the Grand Canal*). Or, if you feel like stretching your legs, St. Mark's is only a 20 minute leisurely stroll away along the lagoon edge, passing the Bienniale Gardens and the Arsenale / Maritime Museum (both extremely worthwhile attractions) – a beautiful stroll at sunset. In the opposite direction, the vaporetto will take you from Sant’Elena to the Lido in just one stop for a day lounging on the beach.

We are seasoned travellers (I'm an artist / photographer) and we’re quite demanding when it comes to service and value for money. We also believe that good service should be rewarded by recommendation, and a number of our friends have taken our advice and stayed at the Sant'Elena. All have been delighted that the hotel was as good as we said it would be. Great hotel, great location, great service and very good value.

We saw a mosquito there in 2007 – the only bad thing we can say about this hotel.

We’ll be there again in 2013 for our 8th. stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Best Western Hotel Olimpia
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#18 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#62 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
San Marco
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
#90 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena

Property: BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena
Address: Calle Buccari 10, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
#73 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Sant' Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing