We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Ranked #61 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value and Style”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel has value and style. The rooms are clean, decor is classy, and the desk staff are helpful. The location is right if you would like to distance yourself from the crowds near the major vaporetto stops. It's easy to get to via the Vaparetto. You can also walk from the hotel to the Piazza San Marco stop in about 20 - 30 or minutes. The hotel is in a quiet, sleepy neighborhood. The hotel restaurant closes early and there aren't many restaurants near the hotel. The ones that are close by 9:00 PM or so. I will say that the locals in the neighborhood don't come across as very welcoming - I could be wrong, but that's based on my opinion after walking into a couple of nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: My sister's family were in the two level apartment style suite. It had an outdoor terrace and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kebadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    549
    94
    25
    8
See reviews for
300
838
36
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We picked this hotel for our first trip to Venice, as we were catching a cruise ship from there. We decided to arrive a few days early and shake off some of the jet lag before boarding our ship. We are really glad that we chose the BW Sant' Elena. It is located about 30 minutes walking distance from Piazza San Marco or a short vaporetto ride. The water bus stop is located about 100 yards from the hotel and there is a small business area that includes a pharmacy, cafe, and supermarket (that sells wine). The area is very quiet and has a park between it and the waterways. We felt safe at all times, even after dark when we ventured out for a walk.
The staff all spoke many languages and were fluent in English. They were friendly and helpful with all of our needs. The rooms were large, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and had a large shower stall along with a double vanity.
The lounge/restaurant located on the ground floor served an excellent dinner for us and the staff made us feel right at home. The food was fantastic and the service likewise. This was also a great place to go for a few drinks in the evening after a romantic walk along the canals.
Breakfast was included in our rate and was one of the best hotel breakfasts that we have ever had. A great selection of hot and cold foods along with the best cappuchino in the area.
There was even a free shuttle ride to the island of Murano to the glass factories if one was interested in glass jewelry .... like my wife. Just ask at the front desk.
We would return to stay at the BW Sant' Elena again and again, which is probably the best endorsement one can give.

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor away from the courtyard and found it to be a very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

A little hidden gem in Venice. Quiet and cute, the common grass area is a great place to relax. The breakfast had a variety of foods and wonderful coffee selection, one of BW's better breakfasts. Close to a water taxi stop that will take you to downtown, train station, or anywhere you desire. Make sure you buy your pass to ride before you arrive at the hotel because there is no place to purchase the pass at the stop by the hotel. The hotel was very convenient and out of the city. The staff was very kind and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank NoTrip2Far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood 50 meters from the Saint Elena vaporetto stop. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and serves a wonderful breakfast. The hotel and location are ideal for those returning to Venice who want a different Venetian experience. The small trattoria, local shopping, and residential streets is a far cry from the tourist inundated areas of the Grand Canal, San Marco, and Rialto sections of Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimandNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Booked a junior suite at the Sant Elena which I found extremely good value for money. The room was clean with good furnishings although the lounge area was on the small side. This was more than compensated for by the friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent and set you up for the mornings trip into the central area of Venice.
The pleasant walk into St Marks takes slightly longer than the 20 minutes stated in the guide however this could be due to the fact that we always found things to stop and explore along the route. This is easily overcome by taking the 10 minute trip on the vaporetto which stops only a couple of hundred meters from the hotel.
We arrived around seven in the evening and the hotel staff happily gave recommendations of where they would eat with their families in the area, which resulted in us spending a lovely evening in a local restaurant which could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Rooms where ok but not 4star we had garden rooms which you need to walk through the restaurant to get there.. Once you enter the reception area you get bed smell from breakfast room. The staff at the reception was good and polite .
Breakfast really poor and not lots of tables so first day we sat on the other side of restaurant which was really really bad with little dead flys
Bed was ok and rooms clean with ac/heater working ..... Did not like this hotel
Distance is far like 30min walk to city centre where most good restaurants and bars are.
We did travel November and been lucky with tides but loved Venice

Tip:
2nights are ok as city is not to big I would say no more then 3nights to see everything I mean everything.
If u land in treviso get a bus which cost 13 euro return don't by it online is more they will give u timetable for return journey
Once in bus station take a boat to st Elena which is nearest stop to hotel boat ride is 7euro for 1h u don't need the boat as u will do the walking and see all the sites
Lots on nice bars and restaurants the do add service charge in all places and also in some cover charge .
3euro p/person is city tax you pay that at the hotel extra
Get a map from hotel will help u lots as iPhone maps or other smartphones not update lots of missing bridges or new ones
Water in canals smells a bit but not as bad as in summer
Everywhere English is spoken good
U need euros

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SyleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here several years ago, partly because it is nice and modern and also because it is away (though only 10 minutes by vaporetto) from the intensity of St Mark's Square.

The rooms are comfortable and quite modern, with adequate facilities for a short stay. We prefer real milk with our tea and coffee and on the occasions we asked at the bar for it we were provided with a small jug which was just what we needed.

The restaurant serves a good (and in our price, inclusive) breakfast, with some hot foods as well as cold meats, cheeses, pastries and the usual range of cereals too. We ate in the hotel restaurant twice in the evenings, partly because my wife had a cold and also because it takes the hassle out of finding something else.

We were not disappointed in anything we ate, although the hotel suffers from the same malaise as other restaurants with the multi-tiered structure of meal components that we never quite understood. Meals for 2 with wine and 2/3 courses were around €60. 2 glasses of prosecco one evening were €5 each (cheaper than the Bellini's at Harry's bar at €16.50 each!)

The wifi worked well and the bathrooms were immaculate, although as with many baths in Eurpope, it would have been a challenge to stretch out too far.

I'd definitely recommend the Sant Elena and it's peaceful surroundings, just one stop from Lido and 2 from St Mark's Square on the vaporetto, which is all part of the fun.

Negatives? The sink in the bathroom emptied very slowly and the towels were a bit tatty on the first night. If anything, the desk staff were a bit too efficient and not quite friendly enough. Just a tweak!

Room Tip: We've stayed on the ground floor with a garden (for 3) and the third floor too - the rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 385 in Venice
2,083 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,301 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#34 of 385 in Venice
1,553 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Address: Calle Buccari 10 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#43 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
#73 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing