We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite OK, but Expensive (Junior Suite)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Ranked #65 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quite OK, but Expensive (Junior Suite)”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We paid way over $300 for a Junior Suite, so this was quite expensive, even if this is Venice. This is essentially a largish room with the bathroom splitting it to two separate parts, making it convenient when traveling with children/babies who sleep in the bedroom part while parents are still awake in the part with the couch. Our room was in the outside corner of the building; others seem to have other floorplans, according to the fire exit map in the room. We had street views from the windows which are quite high and could not be easily peeked out from. Some of the Junior Suites face the courtyard, which is presumably nicer. There is no street noise, as there are no cars and only few people on the streets in this part of Venice.
The room was clean, with nice modern decoratation and furniture, TV also in bedroom. Bathroom was OK, but a bit cramped, with water getting on the floor from the shower.
The breakfast was good but not quite at the level of 4-star hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    544
    94
    24
    8
See reviews for
295
824
35
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Our requirement for a comfortable hotel with a central location where we could get a good night´s sleep was more than met by the Premier Hotel Sant´ Elena. This is one of the best run hotels we have found in Italy and the cost was reasonable for such a good location. True, it isn´t in the dead centre of town but the vaporetto stop is a minute away and the journey to San Marco took about 10 minutes along a delightful stretch of the lagoon. It is also possible to walk along the waterfront to the centre in less than half an hour.

The staff were attentive and helpful, the breakfast buffet was plentiful with both hot and cold options and the opportunity to eat in the garden room meant that we were looking out onto roses and listening to birdsong whilst we ate. The rooms are well appointed with marble bathrooms and comfy beds. Internet access is free and there are pcs and printers available in the lobby for guests.

The only downside was that the dining room was fully booked on the night we had planned to eat in due to a large tour group being in residence. Neither does it open on Sunday evenings. Otherwise a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FilipeSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach. CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We found the hotel with no problem thanks to previous Trip Advisor reviews. We were given a room on the top floor of the hotel, and when the bellman opened the door for us, I was totally taken aback...we had reserved a deluxe king, but got a two-story apartment with a private roof deck! There was a living room on the bottom floor, with kitchenette, and upstairs was a large bedroom, large bath, and stairs leading up to a huge rooftop patio. WOW! After flying for about 17 hours to get to Venice, it was a wonderful respite to arrive here. The room was immaculate, and the bed was so comfortable! It is only about a 25 minute walk to the heart of "tourist-Venice" but being away from the chaos was great. There are 2 computers on the lobby level that offer free internet, if you did not bring a computer. Service was professional and desk staff were able to give us directions and answer other basic questions about Venice. We enjoyed eating breakfast overlooking the courtyard garden area. There was a good selection of food and it was tasty and fresh. Highly recommended! Off the beaten path, but the vaporetto stop is just a minute away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sloshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This hotel is one of the best that we came across in Italy. We were with a tour group and would reccomend this to anyone visitng at any time. The hotel is modern, the staff is helpful and in a great location away from the crowds of San Marco square. There is a water taxi stop nearby or you can walk to the square. My only complaint (I wondered about a rating of 4 instead of 5) was no wireless connectivity in our room. For business purposes this can present a problem but for our vacation, it worked. Very nice place in a quiet beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighlittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We have stayed at the Santa Elena Venice on many occasions the staff and se ice is always exceptional. The location is great ,lovely and quite area just what you need after busy day in the centre. Stayed at other hotels in Venice but this is the best. We have already planned a return visit in July. Nothing negative to say rooms lovely and clean great breakfast lots of choice. Two good cafes near the hotel service drinks and pizzas. Also restaurant just around the corner from the hotel Del Pampo's lovely fresh fish.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This is a great hotel if you don't mind a short walk to eat dinner, shop or visit the sites. If walking is not your passion then the waterbus is a great alternative. Whatever method you choose to get in to Venice if you want a peaceful place to stay this is the place. A nice courtyard, with grass, to enjoy a glass of wine prior to your evening in Venice. As you walk to and from the hotel you are in the midst of daily Venice life for the locals. Kids playing in the park, couples both young and old enjoying the serenity and just people coming and going. I would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a fabulous hotel. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite and the room was very large compared to other hotels in Europe. The breakfast was extremely varied in selection and available from 7-11 which was appreciated since we had to check out early. My only complaint and the reason why I would not give and overall score of excellent, is that I could not get wireless connectiviy in my room. The hotel only offered that in the main areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
2,133 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,281 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#155 of 385 in Venice
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#57 of 385 in Venice
691 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Address: Calle Buccari 10 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
#73 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing