We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria & Restaurant Ae Oche - Venezia Santa Lucia

Pizzeria & Restaurant Ae Oche - Venezia Santa Lucia
Reserve with
Pizzeria & Restaurant Ae Oche - Venezia Santa Lucia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #251 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We went here as we'd had an expensive lunch during the day and wanted a money friendly meal. We stumbled across it late at night as a lot of places were closing, we went in when we saw it was still open! We were quite hungry with it being late. Drinks were well priced, half a litre of wine was $6 which was brilliant. We shared some mozzarella balls for a starter, they came pretty much straight away and were lovely! About eight balls which filled us up nicely. There was enough wait between our starter and main but not too long, I ordered a pizza and my boyfriend got a calzone! They both came and were huge, we couldn't believe how much we got for how little we were paying! Ingredients were fresh and the food was tasty! We were chuffed when the bill came too! Wouldn't go for a 'posh' meal but perfect for a bite to eat on a budget :)

Helpful?
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    284
    99
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ate here Twice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ate here our first night in Venice. The Pizza, though thinner crust than we are accustomed to, was delicious, and we had a salad that was fresh and tasty. Late the next night we went back because 1) they had free Wi-Fi, 2) it was just around the corner from our hotel, and 3) the night prior someone had the Lasagne and it looked delicious. The lasagne did not disappoint, and neither did their Pasta with Pesto. Since they recognized us from the night before, they discounted us the service fee!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calihunnybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Value, why all the negative reviews?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This restaurant is a cheap and cheerful pizzaria located near ferrovia vaporetto stop. It serves many different kinds of pizza at reasonable prices and has a variety of other foods. I had a Pizza with artichokes. The pizza was delicious. The dough was great. At 6.50 euros, this is good pizza. My friend had a plate of squid rings with salad, they said it was the best squid rings he had ever tried. Free wifi is easily available if you ask the waiter. The only downsides are the opening times and the service. It seems Ae Oche closes just after lunch time and does not open till late in the evening; this is strange... Service is somewhat bear as we waited ages for the bill one time. Waiters are friendly and mostly efficient, although sometimes it is like they just can't be bothered unless you ask them again. Overall, great food at a wonderful price, only bad bit is the opening times and the average service. Having eaten there 3 times, I don't understand the negative reviews.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anwar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viña del Mar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicous Pizza!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Close to Santa Lucia Train Station, at Cannaregio street, Ae Oche has a delicious pizza, and you can choose thousands of combinations!!, check that there is an 1.7 euro per person, as charge for service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank irenita_vina_del_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Staff should listen!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Spent 4 days in Venice recently and had lunch here. Wanted a tin of pepsi - got a draft coke. Asked for a glass of ice - got nothing. Asked another staff member for some ice - got nothing. Tried for a third time ....... GOT NOTHING. Decided to leave and asked for the bill - it didn't arrive. What is it about your staff??????? You seem to forget that, without the people who eat at your premises, you wouldn't have a job. So disappointed.
Pizza seemed like it was made in a hurry. Large chunks of peppers which made the pastry soggy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandGalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria & Restaurant Ae Oche - Venezia Santa Lucia also viewed

 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Pizzeria & Restaurant Ae Oche - Venezia Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing