We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel dell'Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel dell'Opera
Ranked #126 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh on Sea
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely hotel, with friendly, helpful staff and close in to St Marks. We stayed for a weekend in March 2013 and as we were arriving in the evening decided to book a water taxi. It was expensive but worth it as was a fun way to arrive and the hotel is well hidden in the winding canals. The room was large and elegant with antique furniture and parquet flooring and very comfortable. The man on reception was extremely helpful and the restaurant he recommended was good (next door!). Would definitely recommend it if you want to be central but away from the bustle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DellOpera, Manager at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you very much for the nice words you left for the impression you had about our Hotel and our Staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us in Venice.
We all wish to welcome you back on your next visit to Venice.
Best regards,

Chiara Trevisan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    188
    48
    4
    4
See reviews for
125
329
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just five minutes from St. Mark's Square, this hotel is a little gem amidst the winding narrow streets and canals of Venice. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, everyone spoke English (whew!), and I literally have no complaints. Well, maybe just a little tiny 'plaint (that's half of a complaint): the breakfast, while adequate, was the same every day; I would have liked to see more variety. And during evening high tide, when the walkway in front of the hotel flooded, they could have put out a temporary walkway. Otherwise, I couldn't recommend it more highly. Clean, efficient staff, well-run and very accommodating (pun intended). Of course, I stayed there during Carnival, so prices were somewhat higher than usual.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teachrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DellOpera, Direttore at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for being in Venice at Hotel dell’Opera.
We appreciated very much all your kind words as well as your suggestions.

Unfortunately, the high tide (Acqua alta in italian) is a very frequent event since the origin of the city. Moreover, by the security laws of Venice, only the City Administration is in charge to set temporary walkways along the public areas.

Anyhow, if you’re planning another holiday to Venice, please do not hesitate to contact us, we would be more than happy to warmly welcome you again.

Chiara Trevisan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lovely little hotel so close to St. Marks and not that far from the Rialto bridge. Staff were very helpful in directions and booking restaurants (got a great table). Great breakfast except that the attendant didn't tell us we could get real coffee so had to contend with Americano! The honesty bar on the roof is small but fantastic, spent many a night with a bottle of wine just looking over the venitian roof tops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a very sweet little hotel.We stayed there in July 2011. We really struggled to find it, we phoned the hotel several times to get directions but the receptionist was from Africa somewhere (I think) and we struggled to understand his accent, he eventually met us around the corner from the hotel and guided us to the entrance, he was very sweet, I felt bad giving him a hard time, but it was really frustrating carting our luggage around with us on the cobble stone paths up and down little bridges at 11pm at night (after a 3 hour train journey) trying to find our hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for a late arrival / check in. Once you know where it is, it's easy to find and a 10min walk to San Marco... everything is walking distance. Fantastic location! They have a small balcony with an honesty bar... nice for a nightcap ;) The hotel itself was very standard, nothing special, however it had it's own little Venician Charm.... even though I was disappointed at first, I must say that I really did enjoy my stay at this hotel, there was something about it.... maybe it was because it was in Venice ;) Breakfast was lovely. We opted for a private water taxi to take us to the airport as the idea of carting our luggage all the way to the water taxi line or station was just not a nice thought. It's an expensive way to travel, but well worth the 150 Euro. The water taxi picked us up at the Hotel Entrance, just the 2 of us, and took us to Venice Airport.... I felt a bit like Angelina Jolie in "The Tourist" with such a fancy ride picking us up from the hotel ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilmare8210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a lovely little hotel in a nice location and I was really hoping to fall in love with it and return for my future visits to Venice, but it just isn't so. There are two main reasons you stay in a hotel and they are to sleep and to bathe and this hotel is lacking in both. While we had a very good sized, attractive room, there was absolutely no sound-proofing whatsoever. Every footstep above sounded like people were stomping and every single voice in the hallway seemed like they were in the room with us. Even with earplugs I struggled to sleep through the noise. As far as the bathing, well that's all it is. There is no shower in the true sense. There is a hand-held faucet, but it only goes a couple of feet up and there is no shower curtain, therefore a bath is your only option. There are also no shelves in the bathroom.

We paid extra for a canal view and that was a waste. If we stood at our window and stuck our heads out we could watch the minimal traffic on a very small canal. There was also a bridge right there so basically the only thing we were watching was pedestrians watching us stick our necks out of our window.

It was also annoying to have an 11am checkout instead of the standard noon checkout.

On the plus side, the room was very pretty with a four-poster bed. It was very big by Italian standards. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was tasty. The location is convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent, from the welcome to checking out, the service and how we felt welcome was superb. The room was clean, bed very comfortable and the en-suite facilities were well appointed, modern and stylish. Would fully reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creosote1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's location & we were not disappointed. It's close to everything but feels a million miles away from the tourist trap of San Marco. Situated next to the Phoenix Theatre the hotel is surrounded by gorgeous little wine bars & restaurants.
The hotel itself is only small, but to be honest how much time do you spend in the actual hotel whilst in Venice? For us it was literally the hours spent sleeping. However, the hotel is still lovely, our room was very large with an amazing view down to the canal in front of the hotel. The bathroom was small but modern & very clean. The room had free WIFI & a small mini-bar that was well priced. Beside this on the top floor of the hotel there is a honesty bar that was very well stocked. This was a very nice feature & on the room terrace there are a few small tables & chairs for you to sit under the stars & enjoy the views over Venice. The stairs up to the terrace are narrow & step, but if you can manage it, it's well worth it.
The staff at the hotel we're fabulous, when we arrived we were upgraded & any questions we had on local tours or where to go they jumped to attention & ensured we were well taken care of.
All in all, this was a great trip, it was for our first wedding anniversary & it was made extra special by staying at a lovely hotel in such a romantic place. We would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the canal & be woken by the Gondala's warming up their vocals
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyEscaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#121 of 386 in Venice
1,146 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 386 in Venice
878 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#113 of 386 in Venice
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#75 of 386 in Venice
700 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#190 of 386 in Venice
645 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#61 of 386 in Venice
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dell'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dell'Opera

Property: Hotel dell'Opera
Address: San Marco 2009, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Venice
#77 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dell'Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel dell'Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dell Opera Hotel Venice
Hotel Dell Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing