We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel dell'Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dell'Opera
Ranked #116 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quaint and lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were fortunate to have stayed here for a few nights recently and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and our room etc. So quaint and lovely, and perfect position! Breakfast was amazing, and just before you turn in for the night,go to the top floor for a night cap! It works on an honesty basis which l found to be great! Bed comfortable along with all amenities. St. Marks square is about 10 min walk away which is a blessing as it can get quite hectic around the area. Would definitely come back to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol1136458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    186
    46
    4
    4
See reviews for
121
328
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great value and good location. The hotel staff was great our entire stay. Their recommendations were spot on. The bedroom was very beautiful and romantic. The room was very elegant and traditional Venician, while the bathrooms were very modern. We were given a room upgrade upon request. My wife and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djrfouralarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We arrived in Venice for one night after a cruise. Having booked on line we were a little nervous of what to expect.
Once we found Hotel dell'Opera (which wasn't the easiest task) we were pleasantly surprised. The greeting we received from the gentleman at the front desk was fabulous so accommodating (sorry cannot recall his name) very tall Italian fellow! The room was huge, spotless, great view of the cannal we could hear them singing it was lovely you had everything you needed.
Breakfast was included in our rate with a great variety of cheese, meat, bread, pastries etc all great.
Positioning was perfect, easy access to St Marks Square only about 10 minute walk which is through all the fabulous little streets. again the front desk gentleman arranged the water taxi to the airport for us which was a buzz! Worth the $120 E.
We highly recommend this quaint hotel! Thank you!

Room Tip: Defiantly great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were a little unsure about this hotel. We had stayed at the much larger Westin on our last trip to Venice, but we found this to be a true gem. We were hot and flustered when we walked in the door (Alitalia had lost our luggage). I van at the main desk was so supportive. He sent up a bottle of sparkling Italian wine to refreash our tired bodies and calm our souls (all at no cost) He was also helpful calling Alitalia to help track down our luggage, and sent up tooth paste and tooth brushes to our rooom.We could not ask for better service.We had a quiet room on the second floor, that was actually a good size rooom for Venice. We enjoyed their daily breakfast which included many choices. We loved the great location, a short walk to many of the sights. We would recommend this quaint botique hotel to anyone heading to the magical city of Venice

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinderteacher76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

What We Liked:
Most of all, our room. Just the right amount of modern fit-out, while still paying homage to the age of the building. Absolutely lovely. In our case, we even had our own terrace. Quite a score!
The communal terrace was nice too, and the computer there came in handy.
Location was fantastic. Just a short walk to St Marks Square.

Things You Should Know:
Our room (301) had a funny shaped bathroom that meant I couldn't stand up to shower. Mind you, I'm 6ft 4, and it's an excuse to have a bath. :-)
The lift only goes to the 2nd floor, but if stairs are an issue you're probably not going to enjoy Venice anyway, as there are a lot of small bridges to walk over.
During breakfast the staff member standing guard may make you feel like you're being watched. Then you'll realise that she's the reason the buffet never runs out of anything.
Venice has mosquitos at times, so keep your windows closed at dawn and dusk.

OVERALL:
Very clean, friendly staff, good breakfast.
Of all the places we stayed in Italy, this was our favourite.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last month and LOVED IT. When I made the reservation I requested the canal view (cost more but no problem) and a room was available. I was so thrilled and what a joy to see the condola's right out our 2nd fl bedroom window. Some of them had singers & music too. When in the room during the day it was a joy seeing and enjoying the condola, condoliers and people below. This small great hotel is located a few short minutes walk to St. Mark's Square. The staff were great and sooo helpful providing tips on restaurants, scheduling our water taxi back to train station, etc. What can I say, we loved our stay as room was a nice size, bed was very comfortable, breakfast was great and had many, many items including scrambled and hard boiled eggs, sausages, fruits, pastries, yogurt, etc. We enjoyed the full breakfast every morning!!
When I return to Venice, and I will, I plan to reserve again at this hotel and hopefully get the same room.
Attached is a pic of the canal right next to the hotel...BELLA!!!!

Room Tip: If u can pay more, go for the CANAL VIEW. You will LOVE IT!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELHIGHSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at this little hotel last week in Venice, we weren't expecting too much as it was inexpensive by Venice standards. We were pleasantly surprised, the water taxi pulled up at the door and the young man at reception was most helpful. We arrived at about 9.30am expecting to be able to drop off our bags and go exploring. We were informed our rooms would be about an hour, a pleasant surprise. The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from St Marks square and we were surprised at the size of the rooms they were really quite large with a new bathroom and windows which opened out with a view of the canal. The breakfast room was great and the food good. The biggest surprise was that it had a small roof terrace for guests to enjoy with a bar where you could help yourselves and just write down what you drunk and give to reception later.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbieandfriends222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#57 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#117 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#77 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dell'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dell'Opera

Property: Hotel dell'Opera
Address: San Marco 2009, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Venice
#77 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dell'Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel dell'Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dell Opera Hotel Venice
Hotel Dell Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing