We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to eat on a bidget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ae Oche - Venezia Zattere - CLOSED

Ae Oche - Venezia Zattere
Price range: $13 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat on a bidget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Venice really isn't somewhere to go for the gastronomy - but this is a good basic (mainly pizza) restaurant that we've been going to for years. Cheaper & more reliable than most Venetian restaurants. It's not a posh restaurant but the food is good & the service is usually quick.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    146
    92
    51
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
255 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Dining in Summer/Nice Indoors in Winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've been to Venice a number of times, both in summer and winter and Ae Oche is a terrific choice for casual dining in any season. In the summer, we loved sitting outside on the Zattere, enjoying people watching and the boats going back and forth on the canal. On really hot nights, we've forgone the view and enjoyed the air conditioned comfort inside. During the winter, the entire Zattere looks different and Ae Oche can be a little difficult to spot until you're right on it as the tables are all put away.
However, inside the food is just as good and the service is mostly attentive...though I will admit there are sometimes some lapses, depending on who is waiting on you.
We like not having to dress up, the wide choice of delicious pizzas along with a range of other choices that works well for a family with a variety of tastes.
We've eaten here both at lunch and dinner and have never been disappointed.
Another good solid choice for food that won't disappoint nor empty your wallet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wamrazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent view, good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

In the Summer they have an astonishing patio on the Canal facing Giudecca island. You can enjoy wonderful sunsets towards Marghera - the industrial area of Venice, having a nice real pizza with a lot of different ingredients, very creative. They have also a nice selection of local brewered beers. The only bad thing is that they don't take reservation by phone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vincenttilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

there are 3 ae oche pizzerias in Venice, and I went to all of them. All 3 are large, probably the largest place is in Zattere. Pizzas there are absolutely OK for high Venetian standards, service is quite fast. Deserts and drinks are also served. Definitely a good choice for a big company of tourists.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olgalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Worst pizza ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I went in this restaurant for a birthday party because it was very cheap but I had the worst pizza I had ever eaten: thin, dry and flat. I had better pizzas in Canada and UK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessiDonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ae Oche - Venezia Zattere also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing