We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish, but lacked atmosphere”

Osteria ai Assassini
Ranked #431 of 1,434 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good fish, but lacked atmosphere”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a pleasant dinner at this restaurant, but felt that it somewhat lacked atmosphere, and the proprietor also lacked charm. The fish was delicious and generally the food very good. Perhaps we were there on a bad night!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMMDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    150
    60
    39
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth hunting out”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We tracked this restaurant down (with some difficulty) thanks to TripAdvisor and other reviews, and were rewarded with a lovely local restaurant. The place was humming with locals, the tourists were in the minority, but were were still made very welcome and they took their time making recommendations and suggestions. We made 2 vists for evening meals in 4 days, and would love to go there again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dyane602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hmm”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

As in Venice if you spend more than 2 seconds looking at a restaurant menu outside the door you will be dragged in. We were told we had a beautiful table with fresh bread etc waiting for us and instead we were taken to the back of the restaurant amongst messy and dirty tables. We ordered pizza for lunch and the pizza was lovely, but what wasn't so lovely was the staff rearranging all the tables whilst we were sitting in the middle of them. Wouldn't go back, no atmosphere and staff were rude.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chelsea699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayey, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place near La Fenice Theatre..”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We loved it. Good service and excelent food try the cheese ravioli and the homemade pasta with cheese sauce, this dish had walnuts, yum yum and tasty. Dessert awesome.. They treat us really good, and for ambiance, when they noticed we were tourist,we told them we are puertorrican's, they manage to play a Ricky Martin' s song, ayyy Puerto Rico!! To remind us of our tiny homeland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariaeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad services, don't like tourist”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything is in the title...
The restaurant was recomended by a venitian friend. But actually the treatment reserved between tourists and italian people is not the same. Good bread for locals, dry one for us. The simple pasta con pomodoro were made with pizza sauce and bad taste. The waiter and the owner were both very unpleasant. The worst osteria we did in 3 days. You better go to the small osteria behind the Rialto called Sacro il Profano.

Helpful?
2 Thank Un D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria ai Assassini also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria ai Assassini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing