We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
Ranked #195 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was an attractive former palace with very basic amenities. A continental breakfast served in a tiny room with just 5 tables for 2, no room service or other meals and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Our room was small and facing the front so was very noisy at night.

But it was centrally located- a short walk from the vaporetti service and from St Mark's Square and restaurarts and shops nearby.

The bed was also short- our feet hung over the edge of the foot of the bed if you didn't keep your head right up to the headboard!

There was a fridge and safe in the room and the shower was very large. The TV had CNN and BBC World News but otherwise 2 German channels.

Staff were all friendly and helpul but I would recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel and taking a travel kettle and supplies with you.

It was part of a Groupom deal so we didn't have any choice of room and with the return flights, trip to Murano and gondola ride was good value

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 262 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed two nights having been previously to Venice in the 5 star Europe and Regina hotel. The service was impeccable and very friendly. In terms of location, you couldn't get much better. Two minutes from St Marks Square. Rooms small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast simple but nice. I would definitely return and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked one night at this hotel before picking up our cruise ship. On arriving at Venice airport we bought a vaporetto ticket at 15 euros per person from the machine and walked along the walkway to the boat stops. This was a far cheaper option than the water taxi which was over 100 euros for 2-4 passengers. It is quite a long walk but you are under cover all the way and can go at your own pace.
We got off at San Zaccaria and walked though an alley to the hotel. This took less than 10 minutes. Reception is very small.Check in was quick and efficient. The girl on duty was very friendly and helpful. She told us we had a small room but that was not a problem for us as we were only staying one night. She took our luggage to the first floor in the small lift and we walked uo the stairs. The room was small but perfectly adequate for our needs. There was a tiny terrace overlooking a small courtyard which was not particularly attractive. The bathroom was large and had an excellent shower.
The bed was comfortable and the wardrobe had adequate room. It also contained a safe. There was a television with limited English channels and a fridge.
Breakfast was served in a small room behind reception. This was included in the price and comprised cereal, fruit juice, pastries and tea and coffee. You could ask for extra and we found it sufficient. The coffee was excellent.
We were a few minutes walk from the Doge's Palace and St Mark's Square. It was also not too far from the Rialto Bridge.
The hotel is in two sections and we were in the older, original part. I can thoroughly recommend it for position, comfort, price and the friendliness of all the staff with whom we came in contact.
We were able to take a short walk back to the vaporetto stop to continue our journey to the cruise terminal. This cost us 8 euros each.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you are staying for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whetstoneview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have just returned from this Hotel with my Husband. We stayed from the 22/10/2012 for 4 nights. We were in the annexe of the building, and had a lovely large room and bathroom. The room was very clean. And I thought the location was excellent. My only problem with this hotel, and has been mentioned on previous reviews, is the breakfast room. There are only 4 tables for breakfast and you have to queue in the hallway for a table, we had to wait over 5 minutes on our last day, but we witnessed another couple waited for over 15 minutes. I can not understand why any hotel would not have enough tables for breakfast for the ammount of guests staying. The Breakfast was ok. Would I stay again? For the location and price maybe

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank train12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent 2 nights with a group in Hotel dei Greci at the begining of October. It has a good location, just few minutes from Piazza di San Marco, of course that it took much longer, as there are many restaurants, bars, souveniers shops and kioskes, so probably you will need to do some pit stops along the way.
The room I stayed was at the second floor, medium size, with a good bath room. But some others stayed in very spacious rooms. But it is important to remind that the hotel does not have elevator, so you will need to carry your own luggage up and down. The hotel has an ad

Room Tip: They have superior rooms, they are located at the thirdy floor, plenty of spacious, but as i said th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celso Rinji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Corte Dei Greci for 5 nights. The room was fantastic with a lovely view over the canal to the front of the hotel. The building is exactly as one would expect reading from the hotel's website - a palazzo with 15 foot high beamed ceilings and Murano glass fittings. The staff were friendly and helpful and are available 24 hours a day giving access as soon as required. The breakfast was more than adequate - continental and not insubstantial. If you consider a full English breakfast or an all you can eat buffet essential then stay in England or go to America - the fare at this hotel is a perfect start to a day wandering in Venice. The location is also ideal - a couple of minutes on foot and you are in San Marco or at the Vaporetto stop at San Zaccaria. I would happily recommend this as a perfect place to stay for anybody; I would happily go back as a couple or to take my children there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GavinDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a fantastic trip to Venice we have just had. Got our directions from a youtube video that someone has posted and found it really easily. When we arrived we asked if we could upgrade to a room with a canal view. For just an extra €30 per night we got an amazing Junior suite. It had a terrace with table and chairs at the back and a beautiful canal view at the front. The bathroom was like new, shower cubicle was on the large size and the shower lovely. There was a safe in the wardrobe to keep passports and valuables safe. It was on the 3rd floor and the lift wasn't working so carrying bags might have been a struggle for some. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. the breakfast room was small but there were never any more than 3 table in use so no problem really. It was continental breakfast and as much as you want, we really enjoyed ours. We will certainly be back to stay here the next time we visit Venice.
We arrived at the airport and took the Alilaguna (water bus) to venice at €15 single. This was the journey from hell and took an hour and half to get to our stop. Coming back to the airport we ordered a water taxi at €110 but took us from the hotel to the airport in 15 mins and was well worth the money and great fun too.
One night we walked in to st. Marks square to find James Corden filming for the new Paul Potts film 'One Chance'. A visit to the Doges Palace is very interesting but try to get there before 10 in the morning to avoid queueing. Same goes for the Basilica which is free but you need to pay €5 to get up the stairs to the Loggia (external balcony) with fantastic views over St. Marks square and the Lagoon. We went to watch an English version of the story of Venice in a small makeshift Teatro. It was ok and seemed to be based on Francesco's Venice video but we wish we had gone to see a Vivali show instead. If your feeling flush its good to sit and have a drink whilst listening to an orchestra in St.Marks Square but be prepared to pay €9 for a small coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade with a canal view but will be cheaper if you dare wait until you arrive. Cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#57 of 385 in Venice
912 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#138 of 385 in Venice
1,140 reviews
Hotel le Tegnue
#4 of 23 in Sottomarina
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isamar Holiday Village
#1 of 1 in Isola Verde
624 reviews
Golf Hotel Albarella
#1 of 1 in Isola Albarella
77 reviews
Castello
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
#159 of 385 in Venice
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte Dei Greci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte Dei Greci Hotel

Address: Castello 4973/4975, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $73 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corte Dei Greci Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corte Dei Greci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing